Change channel really slow

  Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
qzem Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 1
Post: #256
(2014-05-30 20:26)R3N3 Wrote:  got this error never noticed in the stable version.

I still have unknown media portal error when I first start computer. I have windows 8.1 and my setup is that Xbmc is set as custom she'll, so I don't se desktop when I turn computer on. But then Explorer.exe starts in background with 5 seconds delay, so that Xbmc don't lose focus, and I can switch to desktop whenever I need it. I have media portal server on the same computer and my guess is that it needs more time to start then Xbmc itself. That's why live TV won't start automatically. I don't know how to solve it. Maybe someone can tell me which log to check.
find quote
qzem Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 1
Post: #257
@margro

Just to remind you, it might be a time for new version with your famous channel switch speed improvements, since 13.1 Gotham is out now Smile. Thanks!
find quote
margro Offline
Fan
Posts: 714
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 22
Location: The Netherlands
Post: #258
I'm currently testing the new 13.1 build. It will be online within one hour.

Developer of the MediaPortal PVR addon and retired developer of the Argus-TV PVR-addon.
http://www.scintilla.utwente.nl/~marcelg/xbmc
find quote
R3N3 Offline
Member
Posts: 89
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 4
Location: Germany
Thumbs Up  RE: Change channel really slow
Post: #259
Rofl Thx
find quote
Slurm Offline
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 2
Location: Graz, Austria
Post: #260
https://github.com/margro/xbmc/tree/13.1-Gotham_margro gives me a 404. Is there another way to get the sources?
find quote
margro Offline
Fan
Posts: 714
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 22
Location: The Netherlands
Post: #261
Should be fixed now. I didn't push the tags yet.

Developer of the MediaPortal PVR addon and retired developer of the Argus-TV PVR-addon.
http://www.scintilla.utwente.nl/~marcelg/xbmc
find quote
Slurm Offline
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 2
Location: Graz, Austria
Post: #262
(2014-06-07 18:53)margro Wrote:  Should be fixed now. I didn't push the tags yet.

Thanks!
find quote
Dark_Slayer Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 244
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 5
Post: #263
(2014-06-07 18:53)margro Wrote:  Should be fixed now. I didn't push the tags yet.

Hey margro, I can get to the github, but I can't access scintilla.utwente.nl whatsoever. I can't access the main site from the address bar, or google redirect, nor can I follow your ~marcelg area where you put the experimental xbmc builds

Not sure if it's just me, but I've tried with ie11, chrome, and safari at this point
find quote
Dark_Slayer Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 244
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 5
Post: #264
(2014-07-10 00:19)Dark_Slayer Wrote:  Hey margro, I can get to the github, but I can't access scintilla.utwente.nl whatsoever. I can't access the main site from the address bar, or google redirect, nor can I follow your ~marcelg area where you put the experimental xbmc builds

Not sure if it's just me, but I've tried with ie11, chrome, and safari at this point

Whatever it was is fixed
find quote
dreamcat4 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #265
Hi there. Is there any way to get this in to the official xbmc kodi nightly builds?
find quote
sdfg Offline
Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #266
It's already there
it was merged a while ago
bye,
sdf
find quote
dreamcat4 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #267
(2015-01-21 11:09)sdfg Wrote:  It's already there
it was merged a while ago

Excuse for my ignorance,sorry I was not aware since some new bug now in kodi means it cannot play my streams. It's a different issue though.

[EDIT] Streams play OK now, that bit solved. However zapping is still slow for me on 15-ALPHA.
(This post was last modified: 2015-01-25 12:58 by dreamcat4.)
find quote
dreamcat4 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #268
(2014-06-07 18:53)margro Wrote:  Should be fixed now. I didn't push the tags yet.

Margro - can you please check my kodi.log file in trac? Does it look normal?

http://trac.kodi.tv/ticket/15728

But still getting a big delay in starting streams. It happen for me on all the versions of kodi, and including the newest 15-ALPHA nightlies. It's streams coming from a sat>ip receiver.
find quote
margro Offline
Fan
Posts: 714
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 22
Location: The Netherlands
Post: #269
Not related to the fast channel switching changes. Everything looks fine in the log files exept for the long delay.
Long delays typically indicate that ffmpeg uses the maximum allowed time to analyse the stream to find the right video, audio subtitle and teletext streams.
I would try to run the command line ffmpeg program to analyse the stream to see if ffmpeg itself is causing the delay or whether it is the Kodi code around ffmpeg.

Developer of the MediaPortal PVR addon and retired developer of the Argus-TV PVR-addon.
http://www.scintilla.utwente.nl/~marcelg/xbmc
find quote
dreamcat4 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #270
Thanks margro. Yes indeed. This is also what other kodi developer has said he saw in the log too. As I finally found out and added at end of ticket. Problem only to happen when in the url are too many requested &pids= (last argument). So presumably the satip box try to return too many streams at once and it is overloading ffmpeg. Have also informed the manufacturer (Inverto GmBH).
find quote
Post Reply