Change channel really slow

  Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
QLink Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 4
Post: #271
hi margro,

first of all your build (prebuild 13.2)works fantastic on my windows 8.1 notebook.
I'm using vu+ pvr addon with my vu+ duo solo2 and channel switching times are between 1-2 sec.
Thats awesome!

problem is my main htpc in my living room.
It's an i3 running latest stable generic openelec build 5.0.2.
when i use the same pvr addon and the same pvr server i get switching times around 10-12 sec.
it doesn't matter if fta channels or scrambled channels or SD or HD channels.

do you know a way how i can get the same channel switching times i get using your build, but running openelec ?

thanks in advance.
find quote
margro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 759
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 25
Location: The Netherlands
Post: #272
The channel switching patches are included in Kodi and therefore also in OpenElec, so I don't know why it is so much slower with OpenElec.
Did you also try Kodi on your 8.1 notebook? I'm wondering whether it is an OpenElec or a more general Kodi issue...

Developer of the MediaPortal PVR addon and retired developer of the Argus-TV PVR-addon.
http://www.scintilla.utwente.nl/~marcelg/xbmc
find quote
QLink Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 4
Post: #273
I've tested Kodi 14.2 beta1 on my notebook also and channel switching is just slightly slower than your optimized build (2-3sec), but much faster than in openelec.

i've also created a thread in openelec forum here:

http://openelec.tv/forum/71-pvr-live-tv/...g-vu-addon

MasterSKY has answered following post:

"I have the same Problem with Raspberry Pi 2 QuadCore 1GB and Openelelc 5.0.3. Channel Switching takes 10 Seconds or longer.
With Raspberry Pi 1 SingleCore 512MB and Openelec 4.2.1 Channel Switching and Starting takes 1,5-3 seconds.

Vu+/Enigma2 1.9.20 Plugin must be buggy"

so i guess you are trying to say it's an openelec issue, right ?

is there any chance that you will create an optimized build in openelec also ?
(This post was last modified: 2015-02-22 19:23 by QLink.)
find quote
margro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 759
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 25
Location: The Netherlands
Post: #274
I cannot make an optimized OpenElec because the optimizations are already included (just double-checked their github sources).

Developer of the MediaPortal PVR addon and retired developer of the Argus-TV PVR-addon.
http://www.scintilla.utwente.nl/~marcelg/xbmc
find quote
indygo Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Jun 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #275
(2015-02-22 19:22)QLink Wrote:  MasterSKY has answered following post:

"I have the same Problem with Raspberry Pi 2 QuadCore 1GB and Openelelc 5.0.3. Channel Switching takes 10 Seconds or longer.
With Raspberry Pi 1 SingleCore 512MB and Openelec 4.2.1 Channel Switching and Starting takes 1,5-3 seconds.

I'm just writing to confirm that. Rpi 1 and openelec 4.2.1 works fine, while 5.0.8 and 5.95 still have the slow iptv zapping bug.
find quote
Arkam Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #276
Hi guys i have a good notice, after mouths that i use ghotam and raspPi b+ i have the solution of the problem to slowly switch cahnnel Smile

I test it with Kodi 15 and RaspPi 2 and now i switch the channel in 1-2 sec max oleeeeeeee

i try with OSMC and the kodi 15 with that firm (2015.08-1 a09e11ec4d34dc992e9869997b69e570)
and now the trick of the century U.U

when in IPTV simple client insert the .m3u link at the last parte of the link you switch
this part ....m3u&output=mpegts

with ....m3u&output=hls

This solution is possible for ONLY KODI 15 (PC, tablet, smartphone) Smile i try all kodi for all platforms

and in this way all its perfect, all guys try it and reply me Wink
(This post was last modified: 2015-12-05 23:40 by Arkam.)
find quote
barbo Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Dec 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #277
(2015-12-05 23:34)Arkam Wrote:  Hi guys i have a good notice, after mouths that i use ghotam and raspPi b+ i have the solution of the problem to slowly switch cahnnel Smile

I test it with Kodi 15 and RaspPi 2 and now i switch the channel in 1-2 sec max oleeeeeeee

i try with OSMC and the kodi 15 with that firm (2015.08-1 a09e11ec4d34dc992e9869997b69e570)
and now the trick of the century U.U

when in IPTV simple client insert the .m3u link at the last parte of the link you switch
this part ....m3u&output=mpegts

with ....m3u&output=hls

This solution is possible for ONLY KODI 15 (PC, tablet, smartphone) Smile i try all kodi for all platforms

and in this way all its perfect, all guys try it and reply me Wink

Hello,
I use on windows 7 and Kodi 15.2 version and channel change is realy fast. I have a Philips Android TV 2015 and Kodi 15.2 installed, but channel switching is really slow 12-15sec. On the same TV i have VLC and LazyIPTV. LazyIPTV uses VLC as Player and the channel switching is 2-4 sec, Where did you change setings m3u&output=mpegts to hls ??

Best regards
(This post was last modified: 2015-12-30 19:23 by barbo.)
find quote
Arkam Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #278
you cant downlaod the file .m3u but copy and paste the link that the iptv service give you and load it by remote and change the last part

....m3u&output=mpegts

with ....m3u&output=hls
find quote
Post Reply