First time building a htpc
I often browse these forums and look at what other people are making as well as read some of the beginners threads. I really want to try and take the leap of building my own htpc, hopefully with the help of this community. I have always wanted to build my own pc so I figured now would be a good time to try it.

I will probably have a couple questions but the first ones I have are the following:

1. Will this motherboard suffice?

I have done a little research and from what I have read the nvidia ion is good enough to handle 1080p video? I apologize if I am not using correct terminology, kinda a noob here Undecided I have read into nvidia purevideo hd technology which i guess this has? Is the cpu good enough though? Also my local computer store has this mobo for 90$ instead of the newegg price of $130

2. I am planning on purchasing a mini itx case with 200w psu as well. Besides that the only thing else i need is ram and a hard drive correct?(optical drive possibly later)

3. Would it be better to run windows with xbmc or the linux version of xbmc? I have already purchased an ir receiver + remote for my laptop which i am currently running xbmc on now.

Thank you for your time in looking at my thread and any responses are greatly appreciated
1. probably - and worst case scenario it has pci e 16x so you could add a dGPU
2. yes
3. try them all and start with the Linux ones - if their enough for you than that's the best choice Smile
Thank you very much for your response. Only thing is I was trying to avoid having to put in a discrete graphics card because I am not sure it will fit in the case that I want it to.

Heres the case