Win First HTPC - Multi Computer Setup
Little about me before I start:
I have a BS in comp sci and work in a highly technical environment. I have lots of experience building powerful machines, engineering systems, and some minor experience coding. I have never raided, networked beyond sharing a folder and mstsc, and have very little knowledge in regards to media processing/storage.

So I finally have the money I need for an htpc setup. I need some help/recommendations. My intended setup is multi-computer. The 3 listed below are the primary devices. There are also XBOXs and roommates that I am allowing read-only access.

1) A standalone lightweight box for the tv using IGPU/APU connected to the tv.
2) A headless server/NAS for storage.
3) My desktop for remote desktop to server and ripping/stripping video, music, etc to be place on the server

I was planning on running either XBMC or Plex. I am leaning towards XBMC with a multilink SQL server setup.

1) The standalone box will be used for playing media from the server. Processing of video and audio should all take place on the machine. May add an emulator/steam XBLA games/party games, but nothing serious. Netflix, Hulu, internet and some other lightweight features will be added. This box will sleep when not in use.

General specs:
I3-3220 or 3225
Mobo (Requirements: sata 3/gig Ethernet/matx/hdmi)
8Gb (2x4) Samsung super ram
128GB SSD
Case – TBD (I want an all metal case not sure on form factor yet)
Windows 8
80 cert silver+ psu
Some low power GPU - added later
Debating on adding an optical drive

Would like sound to initially be sent through TV, but in time, will be sent through a receiver to speakers