Surely not lost in hardware? Yes!
Ok - So I recently built a 10TB unraid server due to my Thecus NAS blowing out it's NIC card. Now it's time to look at my media server. I currently run WD Live HD in the bedroom & the hub in the living room. Honestly I love them but with 400 movies it's starting to lag when scrolling through to pick out a movie and it doesn't always show the album art unless I stay on that page for 30 seconds or more. So it's time to upgrade that. I am completely new to the XBMC world and have been reading the forums for days trying to pick out what's best for me.

I want this box to act like an appliance. I don't want to be having to hook up a keyboard/mouse to it all the time because something went wrong. It's only going to play movies period. I do need the True-HD/DTS-HD and the occasional 1080P 3D. Although I am not that into 3D at this time but I do own a 3D TV.

I was looking at the Lenovo Q180 then found the Q190. Seems like a decent box if setup correctly from what I read. especially for $319! If I did buy one of these I would like to upgrade the HDD to a Samsung SSD for lightning fast performance. I guess my main question for this unit is will the Q190 with Intel Celeron Processor 887( 1.50GHz 1333MHz 2MB) be able to handle 1080P 3D?

My other option is to build a machine. Which I have no problem doing as long as I know what parts to buy. I have looked at eskro's build layout's and seem to like this one best (yes I will donate to him if I choose this build) then I would obviously just choose a remote to my liking.

Another lost newbie to XBMC wanting to spend around $500 on each unit.
The ASRock FM2 board has it's problems... helped a friend do a build with it and heat issues. He RMA'd and wen't with what I have the A6-3500 FM1... no more problems... we know it works and he is a happy camper....

But if you wan't the new FM2 APU look at a different motherboard... hope Asrock fixes the issue.