Hardware recomendation needed
Hello Everybody

I have read different threads now and getting more and more confused. Some of the threads are a little outdated, others just don't exactly have the information I'm looking for.

So I need your help.

Here is what I want:

- An HTPC which can play 3D as I own an Philips 55pfl7007 which should be able to play 3D movies. (That would make me Group 7, I think).

- The system should be as quiet as possible.

- I would just run xbmc on it (I'm new to xbmc, but I just want a nice and easy way to watch my movies and episodes)

- I don't know, if I need an optical drive. Maybe just to play Blueray which I not yet posses.

- I'm not used to linux, so I would use windows as OS.

- The HTPC should be at a reasonable price (~350 € ok?)

- I live in switzerland, but maybe I could get some pieces in Germany, if unavailable in Switzerland

These cases have I in mind (It should be small and have a good look):
- ITX1
- Realan EI5 or EI7 (depend on the optical drive)

I think some cases are hard to get in switzerland!

CPU
- AMD A6-5400k (don't know exactly why, just have seen it often recomended)

Mobo
- Asrock FM2a75M-ITX (although there are some issues reported? Don't now exactly)

RAM
- Absolutely know idea,

SSD
- 64-120gb ssd, no preferred brand.

Infrared
- Is turning on by infrared a must have? I have seen there are several threads about the best remote, this is for the moment not my first priority. I guess there is no dependency on the hardware?

Power
- Is an outside power solution like piccopsu recommended?

Cooling
- Do I need additional cooling?

I would be really happy, if someone could recommend some hardware to me.
Thank you very much

poensch

About the OS; do you know how to use your TV, Amplifier, dishwasher or smartphone? If so, you can use linux Smile.
Seriously, if you only need XBMC, have a look at openelec:
http://openelec.tv/

It doesnt matter that it runs linux underneath, its just a bootable XBMC.