Mac OS X - No 5.1 sound from AAC or DTS when transcoding to AC3

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
jm928 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I have a surround receiver that can handle AC3 sound, but not DTS through optical. I understand that XBMC (release candidate 2 frodo) should be able to transcode these files to AC3 without a problem, however, depending on settings, things don't work.
With audio output set to Optical/Coax, And AC3 capable receiver ticked, I get 2.0 sound from files in other codecs. This is the same if the output is set to HDMI.
However if i tick LPCM capable receiver with HDMI selected as well, i get the two surround channels coming from the front speakers and no other sound.
Everything works fine for AC3 files.
Is there a setting in mac os that could change this. The optical cable is connected to the mac using a 3.5 mm toslink adapter if that makes a difference.
Thanks
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Kodi MVP
Posts: 15,643
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 213
Location: germany
Post: #2
transcoding from dts/aac to ac3 is broken currently in the new audio engine. We are not able to quick fix this for frodo - we aim 12.1 for this.

AppleTV4/iPhone/iPod/iPad: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for Kodi: NFS (wiki)
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Avahi_Zeroconf (wiki)
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ (wiki)
find quote
DDDamian Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,025
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 255
Location: Canada
Post: #3
@Memphiz - I recall a commit from Davilla some time ago forcing 2.0 if device is optical. This is likely the cause of the 2.0 sound when transcoding from AAC/DTS > AC3

System: XBMC HTPC with HDMI WASAPI & AudioEngine - Denon AVR-3808CI - Denon DVD-5900 Universal Player - Denon DCM-27 CD-Changer
- Sony BDP-S580 Blu-Ray - X-Box 360 - Android tablet wireless remote - 7.1 Streem/Axiom/Velodyne Surround System
If I have been able to help feel free to add to my reputation +/- below - thanks!
find quote
davilla Offline
Retired-Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 11,468
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 64
Post: #4
I'm unaware that optical can officially handle anything but two channels of audio which includes the fake that allows passthrough of ac3/dts.


MediaInfo : http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
find quote
DDDamian Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,025
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 255
Location: Canada
Post: #5
And you're correct - they issue would be that DTS/AAC can be decoded to 5.1 pcm before transcoding, and it's there that the optical 2,0 force can kill the surround & LFE channels - while we're pcm.

PS - I copied that commit over to SoftAE and borked it the same way by doing so Tongue

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=149369

System: XBMC HTPC with HDMI WASAPI & AudioEngine - Denon AVR-3808CI - Denon DVD-5900 Universal Player - Denon DCM-27 CD-Changer
- Sony BDP-S580 Blu-Ray - X-Box 360 - Android tablet wireless remote - 7.1 Streem/Axiom/Velodyne Surround System
If I have been able to help feel free to add to my reputation +/- below - thanks!
(This post was last modified: 2013-01-23 04:38 by DDDamian.)
find quote
davilla Offline
Retired-Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 11,468
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 64
Post: #6
eh ? optical cannot support 6 channels of pcm. I still don't get what you are saying/


MediaInfo : http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
find quote
DDDamian Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,025
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 255
Location: Canada
Post: #7
It's during the intermediate stage between the decoding to PCM (gets forced to 2.0) and then re-encoding to AC3. Ends up as AC3 2.0 final output.

5b62277ae34a8ae9e11d24a677881f6a3254ee05 <- CA

c3bc136c2f6981fb36f4a5d824ee6d8d6e81d3c3 <- added to SoftAE just after

System: XBMC HTPC with HDMI WASAPI & AudioEngine - Denon AVR-3808CI - Denon DVD-5900 Universal Player - Denon DCM-27 CD-Changer
- Sony BDP-S580 Blu-Ray - X-Box 360 - Android tablet wireless remote - 7.1 Streem/Axiom/Velodyne Surround System
If I have been able to help feel free to add to my reputation +/- below - thanks!
(This post was last modified: 2013-01-23 05:35 by DDDamian.)
find quote
davilla Offline
Retired-Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 11,468
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 64
Post: #8
so how should this get fixed ?


MediaInfo : http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
find quote
DDDamian Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,025
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 255
Location: Canada
Post: #9
Both can be safely reverted IMHO.

System: XBMC HTPC with HDMI WASAPI & AudioEngine - Denon AVR-3808CI - Denon DVD-5900 Universal Player - Denon DCM-27 CD-Changer
- Sony BDP-S580 Blu-Ray - X-Box 360 - Android tablet wireless remote - 7.1 Streem/Axiom/Velodyne Surround System
If I have been able to help feel free to add to my reputation +/- below - thanks!
find quote
davilla Offline
Retired-Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 11,468
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 64
Post: #10
Both were added to fix the issue that users would select 5.1 and digital then the channels would be borked because it tried to do 6 channels over optical. So fix one problem but caused another. So they can't be safely reverted Smile


MediaInfo : http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
(This post was last modified: 2013-01-23 07:26 by davilla.)
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Kodi MVP
Posts: 15,643
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 213
Location: germany
Post: #11
If this fixes the 1h02min slowdown effect i'd get a laugh flash...

The real fix would be that we need to know if we are ending up in an 2.0 encoded format or not. If not - we need to clamp to 2.0 - if we do - no clamp needed and we would allow the intermediate lpcm state with > 2 channels.

DDDamian - any clue how this detection could be done? (basically we would need to detect the transcoding use case).

AppleTV4/iPhone/iPod/iPad: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for Kodi: NFS (wiki)
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Avahi_Zeroconf (wiki)
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ (wiki)
(This post was last modified: 2013-01-23 11:34 by Memphiz.)
find quote
DDDamian Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,025
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 255
Location: Canada
Post: #12
@Memphiz - bingo. In master's OpenSink():

Code:
if (!m_transcode)
        newFormat.m_channelLayout.ResolveChannels(m_stdChLayout);
      else
      {
        if (m_masterStream->m_initChannelLayout == AE_CH_LAYOUT_2_0)
          m_transcode = false;
        m_encoderInitFrameSizeMul  = 1.0 / (newFormat.m_channelLayout.Count() *
                                           (CAEUtil::DataFormatToBits(newFormat.m_dataFormat) >> 3));
        m_encoderInitSampleRateMul = 1.0 / newFormat.m_sampleRate;
      }
    }

I still think the analog/optical/HDMI setting should go and just be replaced with the more accurate / descriptive radio buttons + a few additions like:
- force transcode
- force 16 bit
- force 44.1 lpcm

System: XBMC HTPC with HDMI WASAPI & AudioEngine - Denon AVR-3808CI - Denon DVD-5900 Universal Player - Denon DCM-27 CD-Changer
- Sony BDP-S580 Blu-Ray - X-Box 360 - Android tablet wireless remote - 7.1 Streem/Axiom/Velodyne Surround System
If I have been able to help feel free to add to my reputation +/- below - thanks!
find quote
davilla Offline
Retired-Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 11,468
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 64
Post: #13
yea, let's fill that audio section with more settings so we can get even more confused users Smile


MediaInfo : http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 16,625
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 296
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #14
I vote less settings

Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, read this first
Interested in seeing some YouTube videos about Kodi? Go here and subscribe
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Kodi MVP
Posts: 15,643
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 213
Location: germany
Post: #15
well the hdmi/analog/optical setting is more then confusing indeed - i think you will +1 that statement too...

AppleTV4/iPhone/iPod/iPad: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for Kodi: NFS (wiki)
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Avahi_Zeroconf (wiki)
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ (wiki)
find quote
Post Reply