Hello Smile

I'm new to this software.

Version 11 Eden.

At startup I get this error message:
Quote:Error
Script failed! : script.common.plugin.cache

Log:
xbmc.log

The software is running on a brand new Sony Vaio S15 with Windows 8 64bit.

After I installed XBMC, the only thing I did was to apply this guide: Fusion: Easy Addon Installation for XBMC

Can anyone lead me back on track?

Thank you in advance Smile

Bjorn Espen Fagerheim
Python doesn't like non-asc-ii characters in import module paths on Windows - in most cases in your Windows username and thus in your userprofile folder name.
This is because nobody actually bothers to do correct paths decoding to UTF-8 when importing external modules in XBMC addons. So, correcting the addon code aside (.decode('utf-8') in module import paths will help), all you can do is either to run XBMC under username which does not contain non-asc-ii characters (plain English + numbers only) or to run it in the portable mode from a folder which does not include non-asc-ii chars in its name.
It is caused by a special character in the user name.
ok, I will try this Smile
..btw, how can I run this in portabel mode?

:Bjorn
You can run xbmc in portable mode with -p switch. You can modify the shortcut destination to something like this: "C:\Program Files (x86)\XBMC\XBMC.exe" -p
It is working now.
I moved location of the %appdata%\roaming to a location without the special character.

Thanks for helping me with this Smile

:Bjorn
I don't get this. I've got the same script error, but I don't have a special character in my user name.
C:\Users\myname\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\userdata
(2013-02-18, 19:19)FIBO Wrote: I don't get this. I've got the same script error, but I don't have a special character in my user name.
C:\Users\myname\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\userdata

No one can help you without a link to your uploaded debug log (wiki) as LN-BEF had done in his first post.
Sorry, here it is:
log file