[Release] Picture Slideshow Screensaver

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
redraw Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Jan 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #421
Suppose it's running a Slideshow on a certain folder, and you delete/add images. Will the Slideshow understand those changes while running?
find quote
ronie Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,791
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 181
Post: #422
(2015-02-04 08:07)redraw Wrote:  Suppose it's running a Slideshow on a certain folder, and you delete/add images. Will the Slideshow understand those changes while running?

nope.

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
redraw Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Jan 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #423
I wonder why it isn't possible :/
even in the built-in Slideshow...................
it's a basic feature (conceptually) !
find quote
redraw Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Jan 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #424
Why do you think it is difficult to implement?

What do you think about this start-up solution? -> http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=20104
I'm not sure if an infinite loop inside autoexec.py would be a good idea
find quote
ronie Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,791
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 181
Post: #425
(2015-02-05 09:33)redraw Wrote:  Why do you think it is difficult to implement?
threading + timing would make the addon code a lot more complicated than it is now


(2015-02-05 09:33)redraw Wrote:  What do you think about this start-up solution? -> http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=20104

that script will do a fresh directory scan after all images have been displayed.
it can take a long time to get a list of all the images in a directory, especially if your images are on a smb share and/or if you've got thousands of images in one folder.
during this period, the slideshow will keep displaying the last image.
since we use slide animations, the picture will probably slide off screen and you're stuck with a complete black screen for some time.

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
Cyndane Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #426
Is there a possibiliy to add a clock to the screensaver?
find quote
DrJogalog Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Jul 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #427
(2015-02-15 17:05)Cyndane Wrote:  Is there a possibiliy to add a clock to the screensaver?
A static image of a clock deafeats the point of a "screensaver". Wink
find quote
Cyndane Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #428
(2015-02-15 18:27)DrJogalog Wrote:  
(2015-02-15 17:05)Cyndane Wrote:  Is there a possibiliy to add a clock to the screensaver?
A static image of a clock deafeats the point of a "screensaver". Wink


And the static Image of a cd-cover does not?If u listen to a cd such an image could stay for 40 min up to 2 hours.
It´s a grate addon but i think with an included clock this Add-On would be a perfect digital photo frame solution.
(This post was last modified: 2015-02-15 23:37 by Cyndane.)
find quote
DrJogalog Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Jul 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #429
(2015-02-15 23:36)Cyndane Wrote:  
(2015-02-15 18:27)DrJogalog Wrote:  
(2015-02-15 17:05)Cyndane Wrote:  Is there a possibiliy to add a clock to the screensaver?
A static image of a clock deafeats the point of a "screensaver". Wink


And the static Image of a cd-cover does not?If u listen to a cd such an image could stay for 40 min up to 2 hours.
It´s a grate addon but i think with an included clock this Add-On would be a perfect digital photo frame solution.

This is a slideshow of pictures screensaver, not a picture of a CD.
find quote
Cyndane Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #430
I think u don´t understand what i mean, maybe this is because englisch is not my first language and its not easy for me to find the right words.
Yes, this is an slideshow addon and yes, this addon has to show us pictures from a defined folder.

My Question was if it is possible to add a clock to the addon. Which means, while the slideshow is running, there is a clock shown on the picture, maybe at the upper or lower right side.

U said that a static element like a clock would defeat the point of a screensaver. My response was that if u are listen to music and the screensaver activates, ist shows the music-informations
(if u have activated this option). These elements are also static (if u listen to an whole album they can be shown up to 2 hours) but it is no problem so why should a clock be one.

[img][Image: lotczq45.jpg][/img]
find quote
silvanet Online
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Jan 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #431
(2014-12-16 23:26)ronie Wrote:  
(2014-12-16 21:30)chumaj001 Wrote:  Hello, all of a sudden with new update (latest nigtlie and even RC3) the slideshow stopped showing pictures from sub directories. Is it a known bug?

there was a bug in older version of the screensaver.
make sure you're using v2.0.10

I loaded v2.0.11, but it does not show any Video Fanart or Music Fanart for me. All I get is a bunch of circles going around in a larger circle. If I select a folder, the resolution is terrible.

What am I doing wrong?
find quote
rockcjc Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Jan 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #432
I was redoing my kodi settings and now I've noticed that I can not longer select a network folder from my nas to display pictures. Was this removed in the latest build....if so how do I get back to an older build.
find quote
ronie Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,791
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 181
Post: #433
(2015-02-24 14:20)rockcjc Wrote:  I was redoing my kodi settings and now I've noticed that I can not longer select a network folder from my nas to display pictures. Was this removed in the latest build....if so how do I get back to an older build.

first go to the pictures section and add your share there.
it will then show up as a selectable location in the addon settings.

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
rockcjc Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Jan 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #434
(2015-02-24 14:44)ronie Wrote:  
(2015-02-24 14:20)rockcjc Wrote:  I was redoing my kodi settings and now I've noticed that I can not longer select a network folder from my nas to display pictures. Was this removed in the latest build....if so how do I get back to an older build.

first go to the pictures section and add your share there.
it will then show up as a selectable location in the addon settings.
You are the man. I am using plexbmc so makes sense why I hadn't done this step. I was able to get the folder back by restoring a backup of xbmc settings from my first install, pre plexbmc, when I had tried creating the photo library in kodi proper.

this is good to know in case I reset my settings again so I don't have to restore from an old backup.
find quote
Post Reply