[Release] Picture Slideshow Screensaver

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
DrJogalog Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Jul 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #466
Maybe I can find a way to build the extrafanart file list separately and insert the references into the table that the screensaver uses. Unless the files are expected to be in a specific directory or the default fanart pictures are stored in the database directly. Thanks again for confirming.
find quote
buddylee7 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #467
How hard would it be to have this play video as well?
find quote
ronie Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 10,060
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 190
Post: #468
(2015-05-11 23:54)buddylee7 Wrote:  How hard would it be to have this play video as well?

hmm... tough to answer.
sometimes there's only one way to find out, and that's to actually code it.

i'll try to find some spare time this week to have a go at it.

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
(This post was last modified: 2015-05-12 00:26 by ronie.)
find quote
DrJogalog Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Jul 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #469
(2015-05-11 21:18)DrJogalog Wrote:  Maybe I can find a way to build the extrafanart file list separately and insert the references into the table that the screensaver uses. Unless the files are expected to be in a specific directory or the default fanart pictures are stored in the database directly. Thanks again for confirming.

I assume the screensaver reads from the ART table and references back to the MOVIES or TVSHOW table to fetch the video name? The field URL in the ART table is full of weblinks to the pictures, which I also assume the screensaver reads then caches the image (along with the movie/showname?) if the cache is enabled? If I insert SMB share references to the extrafanart, along with all the other fields populated accordingly, would the screensaver be able to show them? Or would it only work with hosted URL's etc?
find quote
ronie Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 10,060
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 190
Post: #470
(2015-05-12 00:28)DrJogalog Wrote:  
(2015-05-11 21:18)DrJogalog Wrote:  Maybe I can find a way to build the extrafanart file list separately and insert the references into the table that the screensaver uses. Unless the files are expected to be in a specific directory or the default fanart pictures are stored in the database directly. Thanks again for confirming.

I assume the screensaver reads from the ART table and references back to the MOVIES or TVSHOW table to fetch the video name? The field URL in the ART table is full of weblinks to the pictures, which I also assume the screensaver reads then caches the image (along with the movie/showname?) if the cache is enabled? If I insert SMB share references to the extrafanart, along with all the other fields populated accordingly, would the screensaver be able to show them? Or would it only work with hosted URL's etc?

the screensaver doesn't directly access the database.
it makes a json-rpc call to kodi and asks for a list of all movies/tv shows and the path to their fanart image.
when it gets this list of paths to each fanart image, it passes the path one by one to kodi and requests to display the image.

so the addon does not access the database, does not download and does not cache images. all that is done by kodi.

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
ronie Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 10,060
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 190
Post: #471
(2015-05-11 23:54)buddylee7 Wrote:  How hard would it be to have this play video as well?

turns out to be impossible.
when a video is started, Kodi will exit the screensaver.

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
DrJogalog Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Jul 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #472
(2015-05-12 00:53)ronie Wrote:  
(2015-05-12 00:28)DrJogalog Wrote:  
(2015-05-11 21:18)DrJogalog Wrote:  Maybe I can find a way to build the extrafanart file list separately and insert the references into the table that the screensaver uses. Unless the files are expected to be in a specific directory or the default fanart pictures are stored in the database directly. Thanks again for confirming.

I assume the screensaver reads from the ART table and references back to the MOVIES or TVSHOW table to fetch the video name? The field URL in the ART table is full of weblinks to the pictures, which I also assume the screensaver reads then caches the image (along with the movie/showname?) if the cache is enabled? If I insert SMB share references to the extrafanart, along with all the other fields populated accordingly, would the screensaver be able to show them? Or would it only work with hosted URL's etc?

the screensaver doesn't directly access the database.
it makes a json-rpc call to kodi and asks for a list of all movies/tv shows and the path to their fanart image.
when it gets this list of paths to each fanart image, it passes the path one by one to kodi and requests to display the image.

so the addon does not access the database, does not download and does not cache images. all that is done by kodi.

Oh well, was worth asking anywhere. Thanks Ronie.
find quote
buddylee7 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #473
(2015-05-12 20:36)ronie Wrote:  
(2015-05-11 23:54)buddylee7 Wrote:  How hard would it be to have this play video as well?

turns out to be impossible.
when a video is started, Kodi will exit the screensaver.

Thanks for looking into it
find quote
buddylee7 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #474
(2015-05-11 17:12)ronie Wrote:  
(2015-05-11 16:52)buddylee7 Wrote:  Would be cool if it could pull pictures from Dropbox so if you have family members that use the screen saver they can all pull from the same location. When pulling pull the copies and store them locally and periodically check to see if any have been added or removed from drop box. Also if it could play video Wink

wouldn't it be possible to use your local dropbox folder?
then there would be no need to download anything.

the addon already checks for updates/removals every 30mins.

So I ended up downloading the Dropbox plugin and it works well but doesn't seem to sync anything unless manually going into the folder structure...doesn't seem to sync periodically in the background. Thoughts?
find quote
ronie Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 10,060
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 190
Post: #475
(2015-05-14 19:45)buddylee7 Wrote:  So I ended up downloading the Dropbox plugin and it works well but doesn't seem to sync anything unless manually going into the folder structure...doesn't seem to sync periodically in the background. Thoughts?

it does for me. that's all i know :-)
you're more likely to find an answer on the dropbox forum i think.

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
buddylee7 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #476
(2015-05-14 20:06)ronie Wrote:  
(2015-05-14 19:45)buddylee7 Wrote:  So I ended up downloading the Dropbox plugin and it works well but doesn't seem to sync anything unless manually going into the folder structure...doesn't seem to sync periodically in the background. Thoughts?

it does for me. that's all i know :-)
you're more likely to find an answer on the dropbox forum i think.

I got it working but seems like I need to reboot every time I delete or add pictures for it to take effect.
find quote
rolandb5 Offline
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #477
Have been using this screensaver for years on a OpenElec installation. Everything worked perfect panning and zooming the backgrounds of my Movies and Series. Now switched to Raspberyy Pi 2 with OSMC, resulting into black bars in about every other background. Looks like it pans out of the photo. I already set scale to full-screen in the options, but did not have any result. Anyone has a clue why this is?
find quote
Post Reply