[Release] Picture Slideshow Screensaver

  Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
ronie Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 11,423
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 253
Post: #631
(2016-01-24 09:22)Lamoboy Wrote:  
(2015-12-11 18:17)ronie Wrote:  i'll add the random.seed() in future versions of the screensaver.
Has this been added in current 2.1.9 version or it still should be added manually?

thanx for the reminder :-)

it will be included in v3.1.1 for kodi jarvis.

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
Alm3820 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Jan 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #632
Hi is there any ideas for my problem? I left it for two hours and it was still just doing the waiting circles Sad
find quote
ronie Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 11,423
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 253
Post: #633
(2016-01-26 05:07)Alm3820 Wrote:  Hi is there any ideas for my problem? I left it for two hours and it was still just doing the waiting circles Sad



(2016-01-19 14:18)ronie Wrote:  
(2016-01-19 04:39)Alm3820 Wrote:  Sorry you're right. I'm now in user data, addon data, screensaver picture slideshow and the only thing in there is settings.xml. No long file. Am I still in the wrong place?

hmm.. could you go the screensaver addon settings and on the advanced tab, click "Update index".
this should create the file i've mentioned.

if it's there, open it in a text editor and check if it contains a list of your pictures.

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
Alm3820 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Jan 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #634
It's there now but I don't know how to open it in a text editor sorry. I'm on an android box.
find quote
Rickt1962 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 219
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #635
Ive been surfing around trying to find a addon that does a picture slide show + back ground music Smile

Its one of those things around Christmas having Xmas pictures displaying with X-mas music playing in the back ground both using random mix method Smile

Any chance of this in the future ?

BEWARE of some ZEALOTS with the banned authority !
One HTPC with HDhomeRun on Comcast 3 tuners with MCEbuddy
Two Raspberry Pi-1 and Two Raspberry Pi-2's which work great with PTVL
4 STB Vigica with 8' C-band and 3' ku band dvb-s2 FTA
1 STB Vigica ATSC OTA
Been at this since the first PC came out and before DOS 1.0 and OS2
find quote
heula Offline
Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation: 0
Location: Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Post: #636
(2016-01-27 02:34)Rickt1962 Wrote:  Ive been surfing around trying to find a addon that does a picture slide show + back ground music Smile

Its one of those things around Christmas having Xmas pictures displaying with X-mas music playing in the back ground both using random mix method Smile

Any chance of this in the future ?

+1 for me.
find quote
ronie Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 11,423
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 253
Post: #637
nope, not possible.
kodi will signal the screensaver to end if it would start music playback.

you can start your playlist yourself though and then wait for the screensaver to kick in (or start it manually).

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
ronie Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 11,423
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 253
Post: #638
(2016-01-27 02:04)Alm3820 Wrote:  It's there now but I don't know how to open it in a text editor sorry. I'm on an android box.

if the screensaver still doesn't work, please try this:

1) check if you can view those images in kodi
home menu > pictures, and browse to the image folder you're using in the screensaver

2) create a Debug Log
start the screensaver while you're creating this log and wait a few minutes before exiting the screensaver.

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
Rickt1962 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 219
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #639
(2016-01-27 12:53)ronie Wrote:  nope, not possible.
kodi will signal the screensaver to end if it would start music playback.

you can start your playlist yourself though and then wait for the screensaver to kick in (or start it manually).

Thank you for the response Smile You have a nice addon !

BEWARE of some ZEALOTS with the banned authority !
One HTPC with HDhomeRun on Comcast 3 tuners with MCEbuddy
Two Raspberry Pi-1 and Two Raspberry Pi-2's which work great with PTVL
4 STB Vigica with 8' C-band and 3' ku band dvb-s2 FTA
1 STB Vigica ATSC OTA
Been at this since the first PC came out and before DOS 1.0 and OS2
find quote
willemd Offline
Donor
Posts: 95
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #640
I'm using this screensaver to great satisfaction. However, I have one problem, which is more Kodi Jarvis related than this specific screensaver, but I'm hoping someone here might know a solution.

Running Windows 10, after I leave my Kodi box idle for a while, the Picture Slideshow screensaver kicks in after the number of minutes I set. However, because I also use the HTPC for other programs than Kodi, I have set a standard Windows screensaver, just in case I leave the desktop or browser open. (I have an older plasma TV that is still prone to burn-in.)

So, after a while, the Windows screensaver overrules the Kodi screensaver when I leave it idle. One moment my fanart is showing, the next the Windows screensaver with colourful lines is on screen. Apart from being ugly to look at, it also takes Kodi like 30 seconds to 'recover' and respond again after I press a key. That means less immersion in the HT experience, thereforeI dislike it. Sad

This did not happen with Isengard, only with Jarvis.

Does anyone know any solution? (Except to turn off the Windows screensaver, which is what was suggested to me in the Windows subforum. Big Grin)
(This post was last modified: 2016-02-06 16:23 by willemd.)
find quote
Lamoboy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #641
(2016-02-06 16:23)willemd Wrote:  Does anyone know any solution?
You can set up similar screensaver in Windows and turn off screensaver in Kodi, thus you will have a screensaver with photos in all situations and not only when you are using Kodi.
find quote
Post Reply