XBMC won't start after upgrade

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
iraiam Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi,

I have been messing with this for a few hours with no resolution, I did an update today and now XBMC won't start, it won't even get to the splash screen.

I am running Ubuntu 12.04 LTS

When I try to start XBMC from therminal I get; "/usr/lib/xbmc/xbmc.bin: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/xbmc/xbmc.bin: undefined symbol: _ZTIN6TagLib5ID3v219Latin1StringHandlerE"

I did apt-get remove xbmc then rebooted
then apt-get install xbmc symptoms are unchanged

I also tried using purge, then renamed the remaining XBMC folders. after reinstalling I got xbmc.bin not found

I'm not sure what to do now, any suggestions?
find quote
wsnipex Offline
Team-Kodi
Posts: 6,162
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 156
Post: #2
give us the output of
apt-cache policy xbmc
find quote
iraiam Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
xbmc:
Installed: 3:12.0-1~ppa1~precise
Candidate: 3:12.0-1~ppa1~precise
Version table:
*** 3:12.0-1~ppa1~precise 0
500 http://ppa.launchpad.net/nathan-renniewa...le/ubuntu/ precise/main amd64 Packages
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
2:12.0~git20130128.1315-frodo-0precise 0
500 http://ppa.launchpad.net/team-xbmc/ppa/ubuntu/ precise/main amd64 Packages
2:11.0~git20120423.cd20772-1 0
500 http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ precise/universe amd64 Packages
find quote
iraiam Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
I think I'm using an incorrect software source? I'm working on that now.
find quote
wsnipex Offline
Team-Kodi
Posts: 6,162
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 156
Post: #5
correct, that is not official Team Xbmc.
find quote
un1versal Offline
Out of Memory (1939–2016)
Posts: 7,134
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Binary Pulsar
Post: #6
The error here is having two ppas that carry similar XBMC versions which is not a good idea because clearly packaging is done differently in both.
Purge all ppas that contain XBMC and insert and usae only one.

uNi
find quote
iraiam Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
OK it's fixed now.

I did;
apt-get remove xbmc
apt-get autoremove (8 packages were removed)

switched to the official team xbmc repository

apt-get install xbmc

Everything is good now, all the add ons are still present, along with all the streaming sources (network attached storage)

Thanks much
(This post was last modified: 2013-01-31 18:16 by iraiam.)
find quote
iraiam Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
(2013-01-31 18:05)uNiversal Wrote:  The error here is having two ppas that carry similar XBMC versions which is not a good idea because clearly packaging is done differently in both.
Purge all ppas that contain XBMC and insert and usae only one.

uNi

Yes I overlooked that until I used the apt-cache policy xbmc. I don't remember when I was using the other build repository or when it got added back in or turned back on, Thanks again
(This post was last modified: 2013-01-31 23:28 by iraiam.)
find quote