Raspberry pi GPIO hardware buttons
Hi!

(I'm very new to xbmc, python and programming in general, so I may say very stupid things. Please help me learn!)

The plan for my raspberry pi is a media center that can run, and be controlled, headless. Like a stereo set. I have an lcd working, now I want controls, and I want to use buttons hooked up to the gpio pins. The buttons work, but I can't get them to work with an xbmc python script.

The problem seems to be the permissions; the python plugin xbmc uses doesn't have root acces, which is required to use the RPi.GPIO python module.
Here's the code I've been using to check for button presses:
Code:
import RPi.GPIO as GPIO
import time
GPIO.setmode(BCM)
GPIO.setup(22, GPIO.IN)
while True:
    if ( GPIO.input(22) == False )
             print("Button pressed")
    time.sleep(0.1); #so I don't have to keep it pressed for too long.
which works if I run it through SSH. The 'print...' bit is a placeholder.
Say I want this button to mean 'navigate right', I figured my code should be:
Code:
import xbmc

xbmc.ExecuteBuiltin("right")
So my question is, how do I get this to work? That is, (I think,) how do I get xbmc the correct permission to do this? Or if someone has a different idea on how to do this, I'm all ears.
May be too simple, but what about "sudo xbmc"?

Anything started by xbmc should inherit permissions from the user running xbmc
That might work, but raspbmc boots into xbmc, so I don't start it with a console command. Still, changing the permissions of xbmc could be a solution. Is there another way to give a startup process su permissions?
I'm a little rusty, but hopefully I can point you in the right direction. Somewhere in your startup process, xbmc is being ran from a startup script, probably somewhere in the init scripts. My first stop would be rc.local.once you find where it's being called from, I think you could just change that to run as root.

(2013-02-01, 18:36)Bstrdsmkr Wrote: My first stop would be rc.local.