Win Live TV Jerky Playback
Hi,

I am new to XBMC and this community. I am a long time Windows Media Center user and like many others, very excited about the new PVR functionality in Frodo. I have a question that I searched the forums for an answer to without luck. In fact I searched outside the forum as well. It’s possible (probable) the answer is staring me right in the face though.

The symptom is live TV playback is jerky. It plays back fast and then slows to a crawl, only to speed up again and then slow down again. I see a buffering status periodically as this is happening, but it comes and goes. Sometimes when I change a channel everything will freeze and I will see that buffering status just sitting there stuck at 0% or 2%, etc. If I wait long enough, a handful of minutes, often it will resume, but still be suffering from the slow/fast behavior.

Recorded video plays back fine. By recorded video, I mean TV that was recorded by Windows Media Center, movies that were downloaded/ripped, etc. From what I can see, the only video that suffers is live TV.

I use NPVR backend and of course, the NPVR add in that was included with Frodo. I do not have this performance issue in NPVR or Windows Media Center, just XBMC so I am thinking that XBMC is the scope of my issue. Remember though, I am new to XBMC and not sure of the interactions of it with NPVR. I see a lot of reference to audio causing these types of issues. Is that accurate? Could I have an audio issue that affects live TV playback and just live TV playback? Seems strange to me, but that’s likely because I just don’t understand. Here are my system details, at least the ones I can think of:

Tuner: HD Homerun Prime
Network (connection to tuner): 100Mbit, this will be changing to 1000Mbit soon.
Frontend: XBMC Frodo
Backend: NextPVR 2.5.9 (installed patch recommended in XBMC wiki)
Graphics: Intel 954GM