TOOL IDEA: Media Comparison
Intro
I have an idea for a supplemental tool that I think may be useful to many users in the community, and to date I haven't been able to find an existing tool that can do it. I decided to create a couple screen mock-ups to solicit feedback from this group to see if there is actually an existing tool that can do this, or if not gauge how much interest there might be in getting something like this built out. I'm not an expert UI designer, but hopefully the screetshots help convey the concept (I used OSX just because I had better templates for mock-up not because I'm implying this has to be a mac-based tool).

The Idea
A challenge often faced my media collectors is the difficulty in quickly and easily comparing media libraries. Using traditional file name comparison tools obviously doesn't work because people rarely use the same naming convention. For those who use external media management tools like Ember you could always generate a report of your collection, but using that to compare collections is a pretty manual process. The idea is to build a tool that facilitates the ability for users to easily compare their media collections with others.

Screen 1
The opening screen allows a user to decide what step of the workflow they are in when they open the tool.

Screen 2
This screen allows the user to create an export of their library that they can share with others. My thought is that this would be a simple XML file. This file could then be opened by another user with the tool as input for the Compare Collections function which is described next. I'm thinking that this function could scrape local media info data IF it exists to enrich the meta data in the XML file, but I'm thinking it shouldn't be mandatory that a user has a perfected organized collection to participate in comparing collections.

Screen 3
This screen is the main function of the tool. The flow would be something like: