Solved How to start XBMC to auto play movie?
I have installed raspbmc XBMC on Raspberry Pi, and try several skins. There is an option in the skin setting menu to run a playlist at startup. However, there is another setting called the "startup window" and I have to select "Home Window" in order for the movie to appear automatically when powered up. But the home menu is always there when the background is playing the movie. Is there a way to go directly to play video without showing the home menu?

Or, is there a simple way to just play and loop a video file automatically at power up, without showing any menu, etc.?

I know there must be many ways to do this simple things, but as I am a beginner, I just want the most simple way to make this work.
Oh, I found the answer here in this forum:

Just put a file name "autoexec.py" in the "/home/pi/.xbmc/userdata/" directory. The file contain this code:

import xbmc
xbmc.executebuiltin( "PlayMedia(/home/pi/.xbmc/userdata/playlists/video/All.m3u)" )
xbmc.executebuiltin( "PlayerControl(repeat)" )
Thanks for this. This worked for me, except it appears that audio does not work when the autoexec runs. Is there some other command that should be ran to enable audio?
Is your volume turned down by default?
If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thumbs up' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "thumbs up" button.)
(2013-02-22, 12:09)hyiu00 Wrote: Oh, I found the answer here in this forum:

Just put a file name "autoexec.py" in the "/home/pi/.xbmc/userdata/" directory. The file contain this code:

import xbmc
xbmc.executebuiltin( "PlayMedia(/home/pi/.xbmc/userdata/playlists/video/All.m3u)" )

This works on startup but does not repeatHuh I have the list of functions from http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Lis..._functions and have tried repeatone and repeatall but repeat will still not work. The following is my autoexec.py file.

import xbmc