[RELEASE] Steam Launcher - Start Steam Big Picture Mode from within Kodi

  Thread Rating:
  • 5 Vote(s) - 4.2 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
ratzofftoya Offline
Donor
Posts: 120
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #781
(2015-05-24 07:28)teeedubb Wrote:  
(2015-05-22 18:43)ratzofftoya Wrote:  Hey there,

As always, great work on this. One question: does it play well with Launcher4Kodi? Is there anything else I should think about launching at startup, like my xbox 360 controller receiver drivers or something, or should that be done automatically?

The only issue with launcher4kodi I've heard of is enabling the force focus on kodi because there is a small overlap of the two programs running at the same time and steam losing focus. A ahk script as a pretty steam script could probably get around this. Xbox wireless receiver is loaded automatically on windows start up.

Thanks! Sure would love if someone could make an ahk script like that...
find quote
ziggurat Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #782
Any news on Isengard compatiblity?
I get an error saying that the zip files do not have a valid file structure when installing in Kodi 15

Also, there are no vivid packaged drivers in ppa:mdeslaur/steamos Sad
However I believe I resolved this issue by running
Code:
wget https://launchpad.net/~mdeslaur/+archive/ubuntu/steamos/+files/steamos-xpad-dkms_0.3-0md0.14.04.2_all.deb && sudo dpkg -i steamos-xpad-dkms_0.3-0md0.14.04.2_all.deb
(This post was last modified: 2015-05-25 14:56 by ziggurat.)
find quote
vampyrex13 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #783
I finally got my audio working perfectly with Steam with ALSA with zero crackling. I have my script wake up my gaming rig (sudo apt-get install powerwake), then swap in my .asoundrc file I use just for Steam. There's some code to keep my gaming rig awake in case I accidentally close Steam too soon. After closing Steam, my other script restores my original .asoundrc and shutsdown my gaming rig after 60 seconds. Also, my .asoundrc.steam config can be overwritten on boot in case my server crashes on me and the original .asoundrc file is not restored. Thanks for everyone's help that led me to get this all working on my system.

pre-steam.sh
Code:
# abort shutdown gaming pc
net rpc abortshutdown -S GamingRigName -U UserName%Password

# wakeup gaming pc
powerwake XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX

# swap in .asoundrc
cp ~/.asoundrc.steam ~/.asoundrc

post-steam.sh
Code:
# shutdown gaming pc
net rpc shutdown -S GamingRigName -U UserName%Password -t 60

# restore .asoundrc
cp ~/.asoundrc.original ~/.asoundrc

.asoundrc.steam
Code:
# --auto-generated-- by /etc/kodi/live.d/01-make-asoundrc.sh
# AUTOUPDATE=True  # change this to disable updating of this file
pcm.!default {
   type plug
   slave.pcm "dmixer"
}

pcm.dmixer {
   type dmix
   ipc_key 1024
   slave {
      pcm "hw:0,9"
      rate 48000
      period_time 0
      period_size 4096
      buffer_size 12288
   }
    bindings {
        0 0
        1 1
    }
}

.asound.original
Code:
# --auto-generated-- by /etc/kodi/live.d/01-make-asoundrc.sh
AUTOUPDATE=False  # change this to disable updating of this file
pcm.!default {
  type plug;
  slave.pcm "hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3";
}
(This post was last modified: Yesterday 17:29 by vampyrex13.)
find quote
teeedubb Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,969
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 73
Location: Down Under
Post: #784
@ziggurat have you tried re-downloading it? Both the repo and the addon installed ok for me on a isengrad nightly
find quote
ziggurat Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #785
(Yesterday 10:16)teeedubb Wrote:  @ziggurat have you tried re-downloading it? Both the repo and the addon installed ok for me on a isengrad nightly

Sorry I downloaded downloaded this webpage instead of ?raw=true using wget Tongue
(This post was last modified: Yesterday 17:39 by ziggurat.)
find quote
vampyrex13 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #786
So i ran sound-test -c 6 -t wav to see if sound came out all my speakers with the setup I previously posted, and it it didn't. Below is what I'm using now for my 5.1 system, again with no crackles. Thr sound-test now works on all speakerss. Do not modify any buffer sizes or you'll get broken pipes in your sound tests and crackly sound in games.

Code:
# --auto-generated-- by /etc/kodi/live.d/01-make-asoundrc.sh
# AUTOUPDATE=True  # change this to disable updating of this file
pcm.!default {
   type plug
   slave.pcm "dmixer"
}

pcm.dmixer {
   type dmix
   ipc_key 1024
   slave {
      pcm "hw:0,9"
      rate 48000
      channels 6

   }
}
(This post was last modified: Today 04:17 by vampyrex13.)
find quote
Post Reply