[RELEASE] Steam Launcher - Start Steam Big Picture Mode from within Kodi

  Thread Rating:
  • 5 Vote(s) - 4.2 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
beavermml Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Aug 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #871
hello..

first of all thanks for your great steam launcher..

I have an issue with win10 upgrade.. after the upgrade it seems my Kodi + Steam profile have a problem.. I have setup a local account ( Kodi ) beside my Microsoft account. I also have setup the Kodi account to automatically launch Kodi by replacing the shell ( Kodi.exe <> explorer.exe ).

Using this way, I can have seamlessly open Kodi on my PC ( my current PC is hooked to My TV and Monitor ). I have set the Kodi to display to the TV. This setup works well. And I also setup the Steam to also set the TV as my primary monitor when ever it is in BPM. The thing is, whenever I launch Steam Launcher, and then exit Steam ( closing Steam ), it seems that Kodi will launch on my PC monitor instead of TV. Even the primary monitor is the PC Monitor ( I have setup Steam to launch on my TV ). This setup did not fail in Win8.1 before I did the upgrade,
find quote
Altri Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Aug 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #872
Hi Big Grin Thanks for this awesome plugin.

I have one issue though, and it's messing up my games.
Steam is always being launched at 1280x720 and even if I changed the resolution through the BPM display settings and it relaunches at 720p.
Is there any way I can change it to my native resolution? (1080p)

Thank you ahead of time.

P.S . I have W8.1
(This post was last modified: 2015-08-16 19:35 by Altri.)
find quote
teeedubb Offline
Donor
Posts: 3,023
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 76
Location: Down Under
Post: #873
@beavermml maybe a post-steam script or modifications to the ahk script to set the default monitor.

@altri if bpm's resolution isn't being saved it sounds like a steam issue... Maybe a reinstall. Or look to see if there are command line switches to force a certain resolution.
find quote
Expat Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Aug 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #874
teeedubb: Thanks for the awesome plugin.

There seems to be a bug however in the way your plugin launches Steam with regard to saving UI settings (and controller mappings). If I start Steam normally from Lubuntu (running Kodibuntu latest), the controller mappings are remembered correctly and all is well in the world.

However when launching Steam from the plugin, I have to re-map the controller each time as it does not save when Steam is exited. If I just "Return to Desktop" after the first launch, this works as a workaround until reboot. This is reproducible in both in lubuntu and openbox sessions. I'd say it was a permissions issue but it seems to write the mappings (as it instantly worked when I tested in a Lubuntu session without having mapped it there before) however it just cannot read them on launch?

I'm afraid I can't provide much more than that without being lead by the nose, I'm only now returning to linux/xbmc after a long absence.

Edit: FYI, I'm using a PS3 controller correctly set up, trusted and paired with sixad - not a 360 controller (yet! That's staying attached to the gaming PC for the time being!)
(This post was last modified: 2015-08-19 03:32 by Expat.)
find quote
coendeurloo Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 270
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #875
Is there a way to open Steam in normal mode with this plugin? Without Big Picture Mode I mean?

I'm asking this because BPM is causing quite a hit on the FPS of my games on an Intel NUC with In Home Streaming, disabling it makes games run much faster.

I'm on Ubuntu 14.04.

[Image: widget]
(This post was last modified: 2015-08-26 19:10 by coendeurloo.)
find quote
brendansound Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Jul 2015
Reputation: 1
Location: QLD Australia
Post: #876
Running games through in-home streaming is probably the bigger problem there.. Iv not had very much luck with it myself and resorted to downloading games
on the server which has been far better.

I don't know exactly how to help you but until someone much better than me comes along. With my limited programming knowledge...It looks like the script you
want is
Code:
nano ~/.config/openbox/steam-bpm.sh

And edit:

Code:
#!/bin/bash

if [[ $(pidof steam) ]] ; then
    steam steam://open/bigpicture
else
    steam -bigpicture
fi

to:

Code:
#!/bin/bash

if [[ $(pidof steam) ]] ; then
    steam steam://open
else
    steam
fi

Worst case scenario it does not work.. and you just revert changes.
find quote
coendeurloo Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 270
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #877
I don't seem to have an openbox folder in there (/home/coen/.config), nano just opens an empty page it seems?

(Yesterday 02:05)brendansound Wrote:  <snip>

I don't know exactly how to help you but until someone much better than me comes along. With my limited programming knowledge...It looks like the script you
want is
Code:
nano ~/.config/openbox/steam-bpm.sh

<snip>

[Image: widget]
(This post was last modified: Yesterday 10:26 by coendeurloo.)
find quote
brendansound Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Jul 2015
Reputation: 1
Location: QLD Australia
Post: #878
(Yesterday 10:06)coendeurloo Wrote:  I don't seem to have an openbox folder in there (/home/coen/.config), nano just opens an empty page it seems?

ah.. Something i probably should have asked in the first place.. which guide exactly did you follow? I'm on kodibuntu so my instructions may
have varied to yours.. nevertheless should be able to figure it out for you.
find quote
teeedubb Offline
Donor
Posts: 3,023
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 76
Location: Down Under
Post: #879
Change the steam-launch.sh script (instructions in the first post) to something like:

Code:
#!/bin/bash
killall -9 kodi.bin
steam
kodi
(This post was last modified: Yesterday 23:36 by teeedubb.)
find quote
Post Reply