HOW-TO:Share libraries using MySQL: Wiki Edition

  Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Raytestrak Offline
Donor
Posts: 450
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 6
Post: #406
(2016-02-27 11:35)RJTPlomp Wrote:  I'm trying to setup MySQL (mariaDB 5.5.44 on a QNAP-system) with Kodi v16 (Jarvis) running on a MacBook. I followed every step in the setup procedure.
1. Exported my library, so that .nfo files are created in all directories that are on my QNAP-system;
2. Created the Kodi user and password in MySQL;
3. Created the advancedsettings.xml and putting that in the right place on my MacBook;
4. Started Kodi on MacBook, and library was empty (which is ok);
5. Rescanned my sources, to import all .nfo files into my MySQL-database (it scans every source, like it always does!);
6. When I start using Kodi after scans finished no movies or tv-shows are showing;
7. I checked MySQL, MyVideo's table is there, and it holds all the data!;

But nothing is showing, can anyone help me resolve this issue?

Regards,

Roland

Whenever I create a new db, I need to re-set the content of each source. Maybe you don't need to, but it's something you can check easily.

Kodibuntu on an Intel NUC (DC3217IYE). Onkyo NR-717. Canton Movie CD-1000. LG 42LM760S

If it ain't broke: break it, fix it, repeat
find quote
RJTPlomp Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Feb 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #407
Hi Raytestrak,

I did rescan every source, is that what you mean by resetting? Not sure what you mean with 're-set', it maybe something I miss.

With rescanning I mean that I had to set the scraper for each source and after that it asks to rescan that source, which I did.

Thx for trying to help me with this.

Roland
find quote
Raytestrak Offline
Donor
Posts: 450
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 6
Post: #408
(2016-02-27 20:44)RJTPlomp Wrote:  Hi Raytestrak,

I did rescan every source, is that what you mean by resetting? Not sure what you mean with 're-set', it maybe something I miss.

With rescanning I mean that I had to set the scraper for each source and after that it asks to rescan that source, which I did.

Thx for trying to help me with this.

Roland

Yes. That's what I meant. Are there any error messages in your log? Any firewall in place that could block your connection? Have you tried connecting on IP address?

Kodibuntu on an Intel NUC (DC3217IYE). Onkyo NR-717. Canton Movie CD-1000. LG 42LM760S

If it ain't broke: break it, fix it, repeat
find quote
RJTPlomp Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Feb 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #409
I have been looking for a log, but can't seem to find it. Can you tell me how I can access that? I'll let you know what it says.

I have Little Snitch installed on my MacBook, otherwise no firewalls, everything works on LAN-level. Don't see how my (router)firewall would prevent anything, or do I miss something here? I also believe nothing is really blowing access to MySQL cause database is automatically made by Kodi en all the data is in the tables when I look into them. I even dropped the databases (Music and Video), and they were rebuild on the next rescan of my media-sources.

You mean connecting on IP-adress of MySQL-server? Not sure what you mean here.
find quote
RJTPlomp Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Feb 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #410
(2016-02-27 21:55)RJTPlomp Wrote:  I have been looking for a log, but can't seem to find it. Can you tell me how I can access that? I'll let you know what it says.

I have Little Snitch installed on my MacBook, otherwise no firewalls, everything works on LAN-level. Don't see how my (router)firewall would prevent anything, or do I miss something here? I also believe nothing is really blowing access to MySQL cause database is automatically made by Kodi en all the data is in the tables when I look into them. I even dropped the databases (Music and Video), and they were rebuild on the next rescan of my media-sources.

You mean connecting on IP-adress of MySQL-server? Not sure what you mean here.

UPDATE: SOLVED!

First I figured out where Kodi-logs are stored on OSX. Then started debuglogging by configuring the advancedsettings.xml file.

Next I started looking at the logging in detail. Found out there were ERRORS coming from tables missing in my MYVideos99 database. Started to search the forum for things concerning MyVideos99 and Kodi v16. And found this post:
http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=186325&page=2

It explains that there are issues with mariaDB. It shows which setting to temporarily turn on in MySQL (mariaDB), then let databases be created again (after dropping them first of course): and problem solved on next source-scan!!

So basically my issue was related to QNAP that left MySQL (cause now Oracle?) and turned to mariaDB (my version 5.5.44). But for anyone who stumbles into this: I hope this helps.

@Raytestrak: thanks for putting me on the path of logging.

Regards,

Roland
(This post was last modified: 2016-02-28 03:14 by RJTPlomp.)
find quote
Raytestrak Offline
Donor
Posts: 450
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 6
Post: #411
(2016-02-27 21:55)RJTPlomp Wrote:  I have been looking for a log, but can't seem to find it. Can you tell me how I can access that? I'll let you know what it says.

I have Little Snitch installed on my MacBook, otherwise no firewalls, everything works on LAN-level. Don't see how my (router)firewall would prevent anything, or do I miss something here? I also believe nothing is really blowing access to MySQL cause database is automatically made by Kodi en all the data is in the tables when I look into them. I even dropped the databases (Music and Video), and they were rebuild on the next rescan of my media-sources.

You mean connecting on IP-adress of MySQL-server? Not sure what you mean here.

My advancedsettings.xml contains this:

Code:
<videodatabase>
        <type>mysql</type>
        <host>192.168.1.1</host>
        <port>3306</port>
        <user>********</user>
        <pass>********</pass>
</videodatabase>

Your log should be here: /Users/<username>/Library/Logs/kodi.log.

My log isn't set to debug, so it contains very little info, but I do see it connects to 192.168.1.1 and that is uses MyMusic56 and MyVideos99.

Code:
Running database version MyMusic56
Running database version MyVideos99

Your issue sounds really strange. It seems your database gets filled, but on the other hand, Kodi doesn't see your database?

Kodibuntu on an Intel NUC (DC3217IYE). Onkyo NR-717. Canton Movie CD-1000. LG 42LM760S

If it ain't broke: break it, fix it, repeat
(This post was last modified: 2016-02-27 23:05 by Raytestrak.)
find quote
Frankdoc Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #412
Kodi warns that Jarvis needs an updated MariaDB version. However for me this runs on my Synology NAS. How do I know if it's good enough? They talk about version 10 but on synology this seems to be 5
find quote
tonabbz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #413
This works the same MariaDB?
find quote
gurabli Offline
Fan
Posts: 389
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #414
Hi,
I have configured a mysql database on my home server running Ubuntu Server. I have a Pi2 with nfs shares and other Windows clients with samba. I know it has been asked several times, but just can't figure it out, how do I configure this if two different type of shares are used? Now I have duplicate items, obviously only one playing, nfs on Pi2, smb on Windows.

HTPC 1: ASRock ION 330, 2x1GB DDR2LP, 32GB 1.8" SDD, itx case, picoPSU 120W, Openelec 6.0.0
HTPC 2: ASRock N3150-ITX, 2x2GB DDR3L, 128GB SSD, itx case, picoPSU 90W, Ubuntu Server + Kodi VAAPI EGL
HTPC 3: RPi2 + OE Milhouse testbuilds
Microserver: Intel Atom 330, 2GB RAM, 320GB + 2x2TB, S960 USB DVB-S2, T230 DVB-T2, picoPSU 120W, Ubuntu Server Trusty, VDR, PMS
find quote
Milhouse Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 10,136
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 386
Post: #415
(2016-06-06 21:03)gurabli Wrote:  Hi,
I have configured a mysql database on my home server running Ubuntu Server. I have a Pi2 with nfs shares and other Windows clients with samba. I know it has been asked several times, but just can't figure it out, how do I configure this if two different type of shares are used? Now I have duplicate items, obviously only one playing, nfs on Pi2, smb on Windows.

Configure your sources on Pi and Windows so they both use the same share, either both smb:// or both nfs://. If you use smb:// on Windows and nfs:// on Pi, then the shared database is of course going to treat each video as two different files resulting in duplicates.

Texture Cache Maintenance Utility: Preload your texture cache for optimal UI performance. Remotely manage media libraries. Purge unused artwork to free up space. Find missing media. Configurable QA check to highlight metadata issues. Aid in diagnosis of library and cache related problems.
find quote
flhthemi Offline
Fan
Posts: 432
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 10
Location: Troutman North Carolina
Post: #416
@gurabli

1) Pick one kodi client to establish sources for your library shouldn't matter which one but I would use the best one I had as far as processing power
2) Remove all library sources from all other devices
3) Make certain all other devices utilizing mysql for the library have the needed lines in advancedsettings.xml

It would be simplest to get it working properly on the client you choose in item 1 so either turn off or do not have the advancedsettings.xml file on any of them but that one until you get it working.

Also note you can not mix versions of kodi across your devices as the kodi database changes from version to version. i. e. kodi 16's db is different than kodi 15's
(This post was last modified: 2016-06-07 00:10 by flhthemi.)
find quote
Post Reply