Accessing home media over the Internet?
It may be just a wacky idea, but would it be possible to play the media in my home PC over the Internet? I mean, I know it can be accessed locally, but say I take my XBMC system to work, and would like to access the media from my home PC there. Would it be possible? What would I need?

Thanks.
vpn would be one way to do it. As long as your internet speed is high enough for the full stream

for transcoding, you can try either plex or use xbmc's upnp server with bubbleupnp as it has a transcoding server. With either option, your client would not be xbmc.

xbmc does not have transcoding functionality
Plex
I'm not an expert but I play one at work.
I use Subsonic on my server and the Subsonic add on for XBMC with modified higher bitrates. It's very good. I can watch all my content via XBMC on my phone, work PC, crappy tablet.
The bottleneck here is your internet connection's upstream. The upstream is still puny on most connections (certainly over my cable modem), and all of those HD videos in your collection are too high bitrate to upload in real time. So, in order to stream to your devices outside the home, you'll have to transcode all your 1080p MKVs in real-time to something with a much lower bitrate. I've tried using AirVideo to do this, but unless I set the transcode quality really low on my server, the videos would chug during playback. Your mileage may vary, but there's a pretty good practical reason that adding this feature hasn't been high on the XBMC devs' priority list.
(2013-03-04, 16:04)T800 Wrote: I use Subsonic on my server and the Subsonic add on for XBMC with modified higher bitrates. It's very good. I can watch all my content via XBMC on my phone, work PC, crappy tablet.

Whoa. Had no idea this was a thing. I've been using Subsonic a long time for music and love it. Off to read all I can on this right now, thanks.