[RELEASE] The Big Pictures Screensaver

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
superjojo Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #46
This is the exception that I get, the InFocus source stopped working now also:

11:56:27 T:4308 NOTICE: -->Python Interpreter Initialized<--
11:56:28 T:4308 NOTICE: TheBigPictures Manager: __init__ with enabled_scrapers: ['AtlanticInFocus']
11:56:28 T:4308 NOTICE: TheBigPictures Manager: switch_to_next id=0
11:56:28 T:4308 NOTICE: TheBigPictures ScraperPlugin[AtlanticInFocus]: get_tree opening url "http://www.theatlantic.com/infocus/"
11:56:28 T:4308 NOTICE: TheBigPictures ScraperPlugin[AtlanticInFocus]: get_tree received 82874 bytes
11:56:30 T:4308 ERROR: EXCEPTION Thrown (PythonToCppException) : -->Python callback/script returned the following error<--
- NOTE: IGNORING THIS CAN LEAD TO MEMORY LEAKS!
Error Type: <type 'exceptions.AttributeError'>
Error Contents: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'findAll'
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "C:\Users\jojo\AppData\Roaming\Kodi\addons\script.screensaver.bigpictures\screens​aver.py", line 60, in onInit
self.slideshow()
File "C:\Users\jojo\AppData\Roaming\Kodi\addons\script.screensaver.bigpictures\screens​aver.py", line 73, in slideshow
albums = self.scraper_manager.get_albums()
File "C:\Users\jojo\AppData\Roaming\Kodi\addons\script.module.bigpictures\lib\thebigpi​ctures.py", line 73, in get_albums
albums = self.current_scraper.get_albums()
File "C:\Users\jojo\AppData\Roaming\Kodi\addons\script.module.bigpictures\lib\scrapers​.py", line 54, in get_albums
return self._albums or self._get_albums()
File "C:\Users\jojo\AppData\Roaming\Kodi\addons\script.module.bigpictures\lib\scrapers​.py", line 166, in _get_albums
headlines = section.findAll('h1', {'class': 'headline'})
AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'findAll'
-->End of Python script error report<--
find quote
Fofer Offline
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 0
Post: #47
Same here, none of the sources work anymore for me. I'm running Kodi v14 (Helix.) Are there any other similar screensavers? Or any hope for this one to be updated?
find quote
hindibuff Offline
Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #48
Hi,
Love the screensaver. Any chance of seeing 1080p pictures pulled in from the bbc source and others mentioned? Also, any way to change the whole screen instead of just the image part. My plasma screen is not being "saved" if you catch my drift Smile


Keep up the good work.
find quote
sphere Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,258
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 52
Location: Germany
Post: #49
Hi,

I fixed the add-on and uploaded the fixed version you should receive an update shortly (max 24h).

Here is the changelog (everything should now work again)
- fixed The Big Picture Scraper (thx to Tobias K├╝hne)
- fixed AtlanticInFocus Scraper
- fixed SacBeeFrame Scraper
- fixed WallStreetJournal Scraper
- fixed TotallyCoolPix Scraper
- removed TimeLightbox Scraper
- removed NewYorkTimesLens Scraper
- improved performance on weak machines in The Big Picture and Atlantic in Focus

regards,
sphere

My GitHub. My Add-ons:
[Image: IOoywq0.jpg]
find quote
Fofer Offline
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 0
Post: #50
Thanks so much sphere! Very happy to have this excellent screensaver back. It's working great on Kodi on my FireTV Stick.

Much appreciated.
find quote
superjojo Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #51
Thanks spehre, it works great!
find quote
Fofer Offline
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 0
Post: #52
One issue I'm seeing is the dueling text titles, one in white and another in blue right on top of it. Is there a way to remove one?

[Image: 022415100526.png]
find quote
Razze Online
Senior Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Jan 2015
Reputation: 6
Location: Germany
Post: #53
I'm currently working on a version that supports an alternative simpler view, where you see more artwork and less text.
Also thinking about trying to add a clock.

Added a new scraper for some internally configured reddit pictures also. That's actually waiting to be merged, not sure if it will be accepted.
find quote
sphere Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,258
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 52
Location: Germany
Post: #54
(2015-02-24 20:09)Fofer Wrote:  One issue I'm seeing is the dueling text titles, one in white and another in blue right on top of it. Is there a way to remove one?

[Image: 022415100526.png]
Which Skin do you use? What is your XBMC/Kodi Resolution?


(2015-02-27 23:23)Razze Wrote:  I'm currently working on a version that supports an alternative simpler view, where you see more artwork and less text.
Also thinking about trying to add a clock.

Added a new scraper for some internally configured reddit pictures also. That's actually waiting to be merged, not sure if it will be accepted.
Yes I already saw your PR - looks good. I didn't have the time yet for a detail look and test.
But thanks in advance! Smile

My GitHub. My Add-ons:
[Image: IOoywq0.jpg]
find quote
Razze Online
Senior Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Jan 2015
Reputation: 6
Location: Germany
Post: #55
(Yesterday 00:05)sphere Wrote:  
(2015-02-27 23:23)Razze Wrote:  I'm currently working on a version that supports an alternative simpler view, where you see more artwork and less text.
Also thinking about trying to add a clock.

Added a new scraper for some internally configured reddit pictures also. That's actually waiting to be merged, not sure if it will be accepted.
Yes I already saw your PR - looks good. I didn't have the time yet for a detail look and test.
But thanks in advance! Smile

Your welcome.

I'll follow it up with a pr from here https://github.com/Razzeee/script.screen...igpictures but I probably need a skinner to get where I want to be for the simple layout.
find quote
Piers Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 1,988
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 72
Location: Salzburg (Austria) / Surrey (UK)
Post: #56
Razze (uses Confluence 'WeatherTemp' font)

Edit: Tested in:

Confluence (no issue)
Aeon Nox (alignment issues, occurs with unmodified version)
Arctic: Zephyr (skin is missing default font replacements)
Blac Glass Nova (skin is missing default font replacements)
BOX (skin is missing default font replacements)
Conq (skin is missing default font replacements)
Eminence (skin is missing default font replacements)
Maximinimalism (skin is missing default font replacements)
Mimic (same issue as Aeon Nox)
Nebula (skin is missing default font replacements)
Rapier (skin is missing default font replacements)
reFocus (skin is missing default font replacements)
Xperience1080 (no issue)

Hmm, that pretty much rules out the below option.

[Image: 5720ebc81c78bb4e.jpg]

[Image: 528491b9a3db0150.jpg]

[Image: 2221dba7d1e99379.jpg]

An updated simple theme as discussed, I've also sent you a PM.

If I've been helpful, add a reputation point by pressing the [+/-] button.

skin.xperience1080
(This post was last modified: Yesterday 19:26 by Piers.)
find quote
sphere Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,258
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 52
Location: Germany
Post: #57
I am also interested in replacing the current skin with a simpler one, so if you are interested: PRs welcome Wink

My GitHub. My Add-ons:
[Image: IOoywq0.jpg]
find quote
Razze Online
Senior Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Jan 2015
Reputation: 6
Location: Germany
Post: #58
(Yesterday 19:33)sphere Wrote:  I am also interested in replacing the current skin with a simpler one, so if you are interested: PRs welcome Wink

In my current branch you can switch between the simple one and yours. But we can just delete that.
find quote
Piers Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 1,988
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 72
Location: Salzburg (Austria) / Surrey (UK)
Post: #59
The problem with the above is the font... I haven't read anything about including fonts with add-on skins - is that possible?

If I've been helpful, add a reputation point by pressing the [+/-] button.

skin.xperience1080
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 12,899
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 178
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #60
(Yesterday 20:28)Piers Wrote:  The problem with the above is the font... I haven't read anything about including fonts with add-on skins - is that possible?
still no sadly

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
find quote
Post Reply