Win How to select backend software?
With xbmc set up, I now need to select a PVR backend that supports the Pinnacle 800e USB TV device I have. (I downloaded the appropriate driver and Win XP recognizes the device when I plug it in.)

How do I go about selecting the PVR software? A search for Pinnacle didn't return any matches.

Thanks for any help.

BTW, here's a link to the USB tuner manual:
ftp://ftp.pctvsystems.com/TV/documentati...01e_EN.pdf
I may have found it ... but I'm not certain. 580 megabytes seems quite large.

http://www.pctvsystems.com/tabid/62/defa...fault.aspx

Am I on the right track with this? Since all the terminology is new to me, I very unsure.

Again, thanks in advance for any assistance.
I am new to this myself, however that link you posted looks like a full tv / pvr solution. I believe you are just looking for a backend solution. Have you looked at the nextpvr xbmc wiki guide: http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=PVR...nd/NextPVR
It does also include a front end as well, you don't have to use this though. You will be using xbmc instead.
Thanks for your response. I was suspecting that 580Mb was more than the backend. I've looked at the wiki, but not being familiar with the terminology, I couldn't see how to isolate a component that would support my device.

Others seem just as confused as I am. For example: http://forums.gbpvr.com/showthread.php?4...=PCTV+800e

At this point, it looks like xbmc, NextPVR and the pctv offering are all-inclusive (competing?) solutions.

Hopefully, someone understands how the software components fit together and can offer a simple® explanation.
If Windows has detected the hardware, then you don't need any more Pinnacle software.

You need a backend (XBMC does not talk directly to the tuner hardware), that's ArgusTV or NextPVR if you're running Windows, and XBMC v12.0 or newer and the relevant PVR add-on enabled.