GSoC Proposal: XBMC Media Databases for handling metadata across multiple systems
Hi guys,
I am a final year engineering student at BITS-Pilani, K.K. Birla Goa Campus, India. And I would like to present my proposal for GSoC 2013.

Summary

1. XBMC Media Databases(XBMC MDB) and Improved handling of media info and metadata:
    All XBMC users that have multiple devices have this issue of maintaining their libraries as when the next device is booted the mismatch of path-names due change in the operating system causes the library to rescan everything and download all the media-info and a metadata that is linked to each. A concept called XBMC MDB can be maintained which keeps a track of the user's media library and by linking the Metadata to the Media rather than the file itself. This will improve the media handling capability of XBMC to avoid unnecessary redundant downloading of metadata, by improving cross system maintenance of the Media Library using XBMC MDB. XBMC MDB will help solve the issue by creating user's and system id's to identify each system. XBMC MDB can initially be done for local systems using simple databases and then later on expand it with cloud support for more users to interact with each other.

2. XBMC Social Media Player: We can introduce the concept of watching media with friends and family without actually them being present in the same room as you. Embedded chat into the media. File syncing across devices and authenticating that the media files are similar to avoid any kind of mismatch while watching the media file.

How will I achieve this