Win Best size for Fanart/Posters/Thumbnails/Disc art
I had posted this in the general Windows forum, but it was suggested that much of this might be related to the skin (Aeon Nox).

I've been using XBMC (Frodo 12) for a few months now and I think I've got things running pretty smooth. I've[/size] been getting my movie library (about 300 movies) organized and noticed the sizes of my artwork are all over the map (the largest being 4000x2247). My current artwork is a mix of auto (through scraping) and manually downloaded images (Fanart.tv, TheMovieDB, Google, etc).

I would imagine (correct me if I'm wrong) that optimal and consistent sized images would improve performance and increase HD space (by reducing very large images). Are there recommended dimensions and file sizes for Fanart/Posters/Thumbnails, Disc art, etc,?

I'm currently using a 1920x1080 resolution on a 92" screen from a 1080p projector, but I'm thinking of scaling that back to 1280x720 for better performance. What would be a good compromise between quality and size. All my movies are in separate folders, with all artwork is located within the individual movie folder. Is there a simple way to resize multiple files (WHEN THEY ARE IN SEPARATE FOLDERS)?
While I can't answer your question about the size of images effecting performance, I'll take a stab at the resizing images question.

PhotoShop has a Image Processor script that can resize all images within a specific folder as well as include any sub folders.

The issue isn't that simple because you only want to effect the size of fanart, not others like banner, poster, disc, logo, etc.

So you would need to run it only on each extrafanart or extrathumbs folder.
HTPC: Dell Optiplex 7050 SFF i7-7700 quad-core, 3.6GHz, 16GB
NAS: Synology DS1813+ and DX513, Hybrid RAID (SHR) 48TB usable space
My Media Center | www.CaptainKen.us | www.YouTube.com/KenInGilbert