Feature Request - XBMC for Samsung Smart TV

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Memphiz Offline
Non-Serving Developer
Posts: 13,402
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 137
Location: germany
Post: #16
This won't be xbmc ...

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: NFS (wiki)
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Avahi_Zeroconf (wiki)
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ (wiki)
find quote
Koying Online
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 3,518
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 68
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Post: #17
Sure not. It's a front-end, like a web interface or yatse.
find quote
Andrew2406 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jan 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
I've read all the form messages on Kodi for samsung smart tv.....and I'm lost......What's the simplest way to download Kodi on a samsung smart tv? Please help i'm a novice.
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 27,132
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 397
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #19
(2015-01-20 02:17)Andrew2406 Wrote:  I've read all the form messages on Kodi for samsung smart tv.....and I'm lost......What's the simplest way to download Kodi on a samsung smart tv? Please help i'm a novice.

I have the feeling you didn't read all of the forum posts. There's at least 30 of them that say that it is not possible at this time to install Kodi on a Samsung smart TV.

You can make easy links to the Kodi Wiki Manual using double brackets around common Kodi words: [[debug log]] = debug log (wiki), [[Video library]] = Video library (wiki), [[SMB]] = SMB (wiki) , [[userdata]] = userdata (wiki), etc
find quote
Andrew2406 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jan 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #20
ok Thanks

Some of the replies date back to over a year ago....that's light years compared to the techno community
(This post was last modified: 2015-01-20 03:34 by Andrew2406.)
find quote
Hedda Offline
Fan
Posts: 629
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 12
Post: #21
It's simple, Kodi can today only run on a Smart TV if is have an Android 4.x or later based OS and it supports side-loading apps.

Only some television manufacturers have Android as 4.x or later as OS and most do not support side-loading apps.

As far as I know Samsung have not announced any plans on releasing any Android based televisions.


Samsung do however have plans on having all their new Smart TVs be based on Tizen OS in the near future, see:

http://techcrunch.com/2014/12/31/all-of-...ng-system/
http://www.samsungdforum.com/Tizendevtools/Sdkdownload

So if only Samsung allow side-loading of Tizen apps on their then an interested developer could port Kodi to Tizen OS.

https://developer.tizen.org
https://developer.tizen.org/forums/nativ...dk-android
https://developer.tizen.org/forums/nativ...ithout-sdk


Unfortunately there is probably no hope in getting Kodi to run on older Smart TVs that are not based Android OS or Tizen OS.

Solution for older televisions is just to go out and buy a Android or Linux based media player or set-top box supporting Kodi.
(This post was last modified: 2015-01-20 15:36 by Hedda.)
find quote
Koying Online
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 3,518
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 68
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Post: #22
Apparently, Tizen has *some* Android compatibility, although I somewhat doubt it would be NDK compatible, as Kodi requires.

If you want Kodi directly on your TV, best is probably to buy Sony, Sharp or Phillips, who committed to Android as their "smart" os.
find quote
Hedda Offline
Fan
Posts: 629
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 12
Post: #23
(2015-01-20 15:29)Koying Wrote:  Apparently, Tizen has *some* Android compatibility, although I somewhat doubt it would be NDK compatible, as Kodi requires.
https://dockr.eurogiciel.fr/blogs/embedd...yland-nuc/

Someone have already ported Kodi 14 to Tizen 3.0 for Intel architecture once

http://www.cnx-software.com/2014/08/17/x...tizen-3-0/

And it appers that Intel 3815 NUC is officially supported upstream by Tizen

http://www.cnx-software.com/2014/06/05/f...announced/
(This post was last modified: 2015-01-20 15:40 by Hedda.)
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Non-Serving Developer
Posts: 13,402
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 137
Location: germany
Post: #24
a tv with intel hardware - that would be a waste imo ...

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: NFS (wiki)
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Avahi_Zeroconf (wiki)
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ (wiki)
find quote
Hedda Offline
Fan
Posts: 629
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 12
Post: #25
(2015-01-20 22:11)Memphiz Wrote:  a tv with intel hardware - that would be a waste imo ...
I guess that you then have not heard about the new Intel Compute Stick and similar x86 TV sticks at prices competing with Android media players.

These new Intel SoC chips do not have CPUs for desktop computer, these use cheaper low-power chipsets that are meant to compete with ARM SoCs.

Intel plans om competing with ARM and MIPS for the embedded system markets, they are even bring x86 architecture to the wearable market.
find quote
xraheelx Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mar 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #26
So I am using Kodi on My Samsung Galaxy Note 4, I use a certain Repo Called SASTA TV that I pay for, it has indian channels/movies and etc.

I noticed when I screen mirror my phone on 2014 Samsung Smart TV, Kodi will show up and let me go through the categories and let me get to the stream and MIRROR it exactly like it does on my phone and show the stream/movie on the TV Just fine.

Well I also have a SAMSUNG NON SMART TV, So I went out a Bought a Samsung ALLSHARE CAST Dongle (Was going to buy the Netgear PTV3000 but it has been discontinued due to connectivity issues). Anyways I Hooked up my ALLSHARE CAST Dongle to my Regular TV, and it is Mirroring my Phone perfectly, it even shows KODI and all the categories and etc, but when it becomes time to load the video to play it will Freeze on KODI App on TV, and the video will play on my Phone but will not Show up on my TV. What is the Best solution to this?

I Cant use this Repo to use Chromecast as it doesnt let me do a DLNA/UPNP Link to Cast VIA Browser as some other REPO's do. So Chromecast is not a Option, and nor is my XBOX One. I havent Tried the ROKU yet but this Samsung ALLSHARE is $80 and more premium and is supposed to be full proof, specially with a samsung phone.

Is there anyway to extract the LINK it is playing to use the Casting Apps and devices? It seems SASTA TV tends to hide it or encode it so I cant extract it and play it via chromecast like some other Repos let me do.

I want to use the Allshare because it uses WIFI Direct Unlike Chromecast/Roku, so I can take it anywhere and play it on any tv without being on same WIFI Network.


Someone has to have experience with this issue, or know if its even a issue?
(This post was last modified: 2015-03-10 11:33 by xraheelx.)
find quote
Post Reply