Ouya, XBMC and cmyth - choppy video

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 9,204
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 167
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #31
It surely is madness as well as maddening.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
321liftoff Offline
Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #32
The other maddening thing is that US over-the-air TV is in MPEG-2 instead of h.264. I think choosing the latter would have saved heartache for a lot of people...
find quote
elmcguinness Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #33
that is exactly the issue I am facing when trying to stream from my tv tuner to the OUYA. XBMC and the NPVR plugin work wonderfully, just the video is extremely choppy due to software being used to decode/render it instead of the proper hardware.
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 9,204
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 167
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #34
(2013-10-26 22:12)321liftoff Wrote:  The other maddening thing is that US over-the-air TV is in MPEG-2 instead of h.264. I think choosing the latter would have saved heartache for a lot of people...

H264 was hardly viable when the US was setting up digital TV. Switching is difficult once a standard is established.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
elmcguinness Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #35
Switching anything in the US is difficult lol, how many years has it been since switching to metric was discussed?
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 9,204
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 167
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #36
(2013-10-26 22:14)elmcguinness Wrote:  that is exactly the issue I am facing when trying to stream from my tv tuner to the OUYA. XBMC and the NPVR plugin work wonderfully, just the video is extremely choppy due to software being used to decode/render it instead of the proper hardware.

Well if you insist on using ouya, you could transcode to h264.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
elmcguinness Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #37
Unfortunately my pc is not up to that challenge, it is a low power atom PC :-) I'll just hope they go the way of the Pi and offer a license. I posted a support ticket about it and will wait to see what they say. I really just hate to see an avenue close for this device when it is not really a big problem to fix on their side.

If not this will be my only OUYA and I will have to look elsewhere for a mediacenter device for the rest of my family.
(This post was last modified: 2013-10-26 23:19 by elmcguinness.)
find quote
321liftoff Offline
Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #38
Any response from Ouya? There seems to be good hope with the CuBox-i devices...
find quote
DeweyOxberger Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #39
I've posted this as an issue with Ouya but the issue just gets robo-closed with a "sorry, we are swamped so we are just dumping your issue" message. If they had solid netflix, hulu, and myth support I would have loved it.
find quote
321liftoff Offline
Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #40
A shame, really; especially since you were one of the first to get the device by supporting kickstarter. As much as it sucks for you, it's a definite signal to the rest of the community to look elsewhere for a device to play recorded TV in the USA.
find quote
twojciac Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #41
Silicondust now has a H.264 encoded OTA/Clear QAM tuner and I suspect next year they'll be coming out with a H.264 cablecard version. So rather than transcoding to H.264 which would be very CPU intensive, it would just natively stream it.
find quote
DeweyOxberger Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #42
I just side-loaded Amazon's play store and then loaded the netflix app. It works great. All of xbmc works well except for mpeg2 (so HDTV). Sooooo close!
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 9,204
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 167
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #43
Get your TV company to get with the programme and broadcast h.264!

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
a_team Offline
Donor
Posts: 78
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: Canada Eh!
Post: #44
+1 affected by no MPEG2 Hardware decoding on the Ouya
find quote
Gibby13 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #45
Ugh, I was just getting ready to get an Ouya for XBMC and MythTV Live Video. Looks like I will go with the Pivos XIOS DS instead. Been playing with other cheap android sticks hoping for a cheap solution for the kids play room and the other guest bedrooms.
find quote