Win Dumb streaming question
Ok this is my first time posting a question here. I hope someone here could chime in. I have for the longest time had a desktop PC running xbmc connected to my hd tv in living room running my 720-1080p MKV files of external hardrives with no stuttering issues ect. Since my collection has been growing. I decided to place 2nd pc in garage and hardwire via Ethernet to my home network so all my external hardrives are now connected to my garage PC and streaming everything thru wired network to my living room PC. The problem now is that I get buffering and stuttering problems.

My question is, which pc needs to be faster (which pc is actually doing all the work) I have my newer pc in garage and the older pc in living room should I switch them & see if it fixes my problem. This is my first trial at streaming via home network and frankly if I can't fix issue I might go back to having just one PC with a lot of clutter.
Im not an expert but one question i would ask is, are those external hard drive NAS or just external drives connected to your pc?

Is this your set up - EXT HDD -> Living room PC -> Garage PC?
They are just external hardrives connected to garage pc. My living room xbmc pc connects to those via windows SMB
right...then it depends on how good your living room pc is then to process that info and send it across.

You can either swap the PC's as you suggested and see if that makes a difference or see if there is a way to convert those external drive to NAS using a NAS enclosure or see if your router allows you to plug in USB drives into it as sometime some router have that capability.

Also do you know if all your two PC's and router are Gigabit connections?
Yes two pcs and router are gigabit connections. I will switch out computers and see if that solves the problem. So just making sure I have this straight. The PC in the living room recieving information via SMB connection needs to be the faster of the two is this correct?