Apple TV 1 with audio out of HDMI and Analog?
Hello all, Im new to XBMC and apple tv 1.
I have just bought a apple tv gen 1 160gb and a broadcom xxxx15 card via ebayand should hopefully recieve them soon.
I want to run xbmc but I have 1 requirement, I need to be able to output audio from the analog and HDMI at the same time. as I have analog zone 2 input on my reciever. Just being able to play 720p will be suffice as well.

I have done a lot of reading all over the net, but it is still clear as mud to me. All, I have gathered is FRODO can't do it, and there seems to be a lot of mucking around to get it working with eden on linux.

would I be best running;

1/ atv1 w/crystal with jailbroken Apple OS/XMBC eden.
2/ atv1 w/crystal with OpenELEC 2.0(eden)
3/ atv1 w/crystal with Crystalbuntu??

I would rather not stuff around too much with trial and error as I don't have a lot of time with a young family needing attention, but if there is a sure fire way to get it to work with eden on Openelec 2.0 easily I would be happy, as I would get the benefit of a faster UI.

thanks for your help
Both OpenELEC 3.0 and Crystalbuntu 2.0 are easy as pie to get up and running, and work with XBMC v12 Frodo. I'm using an ATV1 with Crystalbuntu 2 and Frodo right now. Both are good, but to be honest, Crystalbuntu is a little faster with the interface. OpenELEC probably makes it easier to set up some stuff if you want to add torrents or a Live TV PVR server.

Both should be able to output over HDMI and analog, but I believe that doing this will limit HDMI to stereo, but I'm not entirely sure (it's been a while since I've tried, and both OE and CB have updated systems since then). I used to do this so that I wouldn't have to change settings when I switched the ATV1 to different TVs.

It took it a little bit, but Frodo now runs like a Champ on the ATV1.

I've got a lot of toys now that run XBMC, but my ATV1 still remains my most used machine.