Setting up a NAS
So I've been looking into merging all my stuff in the easiest to access way possible. A Nas server seems to be exactly what I want. As I'm looking into it I'm getting more and more information and more and more confused honestly. Starting out I was going to be just using FreeNAS because I have an old desktop I'm not using that meets the ZFS requirements. And has a 500gig HD in it. So I thought it would be a good starting point then I'd expand into RAID and mutlidrive setups but that's a bit far ahead of where I'm at right now. Currently all my media is on a few separate external HD's. Movies on some TV shows on the other. 500 gigs compared to all of it total isn't much but since I'm just starting out I figure I'll just put what I'm currently watching on it and some oldies until I can get the money to add to it.

I'm just not sure what to use though as I'm reading a lot of the better stuff seem setup for more advanced rigs but since I'm using some basic stuff and will upgrade as I go along I'm not sure if it's good to start out with that. And I just want what's best for what I'm doing really. I've just started with XBMC but I've already gotten really used to it. My files are all named correctly and it works etc etc. When it comes to the NAS itself though I'm not sure what to setup. I've seen a lot of upnp is more preferred to mysql but any information I can find seems a bit outdated. Eventually I'll expand into the larger beefier stuff but right now I just want sort of a proof of concept up and running I can tinker with and learn with. Also as a sort of proof of concept for my roommates to share off of so I can get them to kick in some money for upgrades Tongue