Rate songs? Play in background?
I am new to XBMC, so I apologize for any naivete I may exhibit.

I have installed XBMC on my jailbroken iPad, strictly for the purpose of playing music from my portable Seagate GoFlex Satellite wifi drive (so I can drive with 500 gb of music instead of 32 or whatever). It plays fine, so far so good! But I have two questions:

1. I can see that each song is displayed with a rating (stars) area... even nice and big if I hit the little "Now Playing" button... but what I can't seem to find is a way to tap anywhere to actually assign a rating. Is there any way I can rate a song while playing it in XBMC?

2. Is there a way to set it to continue to play in the background, i.e. so I can switch to my GPS navigation program without cutting off the song that XBMC is playing?

Thanks for any guidance!
point 2. is possible (depends on your used version) ... just look in the multitask bar and swipe to the left ... it should show the paused playback of xbmc and should allow you to continue playback while not having xbmc in the foreground ...
AppleTV4/iPhone/iPod/iPad: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for Kodi: NFS (wiki)
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Avahi_Zeroconf (wiki)
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ (wiki)
(2013-07-03, 20:59)Memphiz Wrote: point 2. is possible (depends on your used version) ... just look in the multitask bar and swipe to the left ... it should show the paused playback of xbmc and should allow you to continue playback while not having xbmc in the foreground ...
Thanks for the tip. It's a partial solution. It does work as you describe, but the music switches off again every time I switch in or out of XBMC. Is there anyway to make it default to keep playing? My non-jailbreak players do. Since this is to be used while driving, I am looking to keep operation/distraction to a minimum.