[RELEASE] XBMC Resume

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
lou_cyfer Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #16
tried it with gotham... my experience:
- seems to work "somehow" with playlists, no resume on second start of XBMC
- does not start the service reliable
- does not "resume" reliable
- can crash even windows (thanks dude)

I'm not complaining, just "reporting" Smile

[debugging]
I checked the content of xbmcresume.db with "SQLlite manager":
1)
- after xbmc ALT-F4, "audio" and "audio_playlist" in the DB-file can become "null" / "blank" => no resume (for actual audio file played) possible.
=> buggy (I guess, for some reason the service writes data during xbmc-exit, which could be null)
2)
- after xbmc "exit button", "audio" and "audio_playlist" seem to by ok => resumable (dont know how reliable)



I really wonder, why such an essential feature is not provided by XMBC intrinsicly.
I love XBMC, but this is a killerfeature missing for years now !
Would LOVE to have it for car, "internet radio PCs" or my cellar-bar-PC Wink
All this units run just by "power on".. and XBMC is the dead end Sad

I used a wired setup with curl/.bat/eventghost/.py so far to "autoresume"... but its pain to setup & far from being perfect.
This feature belongs to XBMC and shouldn't be an "add on/externally".

cheers
lou
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-18 10:39 by lou_cyfer.)
find quote
ProGEEK Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Wink  RE: [RELEASE] XBMC Resume
Post: #17
I have found this to work flawlessly and love it.
My only gripe would be the lack of being able to disable the "Resuming" progress dialog. IMHO, A simple notification would have been sufficient and a toggle setting to enable/disable.

Other than this, works a treat! Use it for my Car PC and its great not having to select music every time I turn the key on. Big Grin
find quote
c_dunne Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
Apologies if this is a noob question but I've installed XBMC Resume on my raspbmc install. It started by working fine but today the pi seems to crash on boot when it displays the 100% of the resume complete bar and eventually exits itself and runs again.

I've tried looking to see if there's any easy way to disable running this plugin in shell and have deleted all the lines in '/.xbmc/userdata/addon_data/script.service.xbmcresume' but to no avail.

Does anyone know how I can easily prevent the plugin from auto running in shell?
find quote
ssy080 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #19
Hi, this is good, but it only works if I exit out of xbmc (force close). I would like the normal "resume xx:xx" and "start at the beginning" prompt if a previously watched add-on video is selected instead of it resuming automatically. Is this at all possible?

Thank you for the great work!
find quote
martyanov Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #20
Unfortunately I can not download, writes "dead links".
find quote
veretnov2005 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Jul 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #21
Hello! Links for downloading don't work, can you upload adddon again, it is excellent addon for carpc.
find quote
masinad Offline
Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #22
+1 wold also like to get mirror link
find quote
IckZ Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jul 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #23
I would also like to test this version on osmc rc3. Any news about the mirror?
find quote
jblook Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: May 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #24
Guys,

I was looking for this too. Was able to find it here:
https://github.com/ProGEEK/kodi-resume

Works perfectly for me (Raspberry pi, Openelec, Kodi 15.2-RC3).

Download and install from Zip.
It's not the first resume script i've tried, but it's the first one able to resume a playlist that actually works!
find quote
GriffeyJuni0r Offline
Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 2
Post: #25
Awesome, I've been waiting patiently for this to pop back up again!

1) This isn't working with playlists for me - It plays the last playlist played, but not the correct video/time.
2) I'd like to add a feature to Resume on Hotkey - I don't necessarily want to resume the last file every time I start up Kodi, but would be nice to have a Hotkey assigned to it.
3) With the Hotkey, I'd like a feature similar to the 'Previous' button on TV, which would allow you to swap back and forth between two videos with a Hotkey.
4) Finally, it would be cool to store each Playlist's last Video/Time and offer an option to 'Resume Playlist' when playing it.
(This post was last modified: 2015-11-07 02:37 by GriffeyJuni0r.)
find quote
GriffeyJuni0r Offline
Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 2
Post: #26
Was able to get this to work with a Hotkey, for any of those interested. Probably not the most elegant way, but it works:

1) service.py Line 53 should read be changed to "resume = True". This prevents running on startup (or on the Home Screen)
2) add a Hotkey to your Keyboard.xml file that runs the service.py file:
<k mod="ctrl">XBMC.RunScript(C:\Users\Bedroom\AppData\Roaming\Kodi\addons\kodi-resume-master\service.py)</k>

Just need to figure out how to resume the previous file if the current file in the resume database is already playing, and we can mimic the "Previous" button to swap between streams! Any help on this would be great.
find quote
Post Reply