[RELEASE] Chrome Launcher

  Thread Rating:
  • 6 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
pettergulbra Offline
Fan
Posts: 590
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #391
I have sound on mine, Chrome Launcher.
I have deactivated navigation sound in Kodi, and something else. Can`t remember right now. Not at home.

Do you have a link to the Alelec repo?

HP Chrome Box, with Kodibuntu
TV: Samsung UE55F8005STXXE - Receiver: Yamaha RX-V767.

To everyone that helps me and other, BIG THANKS from ALL of US, to ALL of YOU!!
find quote
Schuby Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Apr 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #392
You can get the Alelec repo here http://www.alelec.net/kodi/repository.alelec.zip .

I ended up installing pulseaudio to get the sound working and now it works fine. But I've lost bitstreaming in Kodi. Is it even possible to get sound in Chrome to work with Alsa?
(This post was last modified: 2015-05-02 03:45 by Schuby.)
find quote
pettergulbra Offline
Fan
Posts: 590
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #393
Hi

If I changed the top_margin and added the left_margin and this two lines:
prefs_window_placement['left'] = left_margin
prefs_window_placement['right'] = width-left_margin

It wont start at all, error in script. If I just keep the top_margin it starts, but just half the screen as always.
So this did not help me :-(

The edit in size in normal Lubuntu session still works. But can`t have set it to use "Use own user profile".

But still don`t read commands from my IR receiver.

HP Chrome Box, with Kodibuntu
TV: Samsung UE55F8005STXXE - Receiver: Yamaha RX-V767.

To everyone that helps me and other, BIG THANKS from ALL of US, to ALL of YOU!!
(This post was last modified: 2015-05-05 16:08 by pettergulbra.)
find quote
sblack55 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mar 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #394
I discussed this issue with corona the other day. Fullscreen won't work for him without top_margin, and it won't work for me with it. Obviously very environment-dependent. He thought maybe he should add user settings for the values and I agreed that would probably be best. Then we can each play around until we find what works in our setup. Hopefully that will appear in a forthcoming upgrade.

-- Steve

30+ years experience in software development, fairly new to Linux, very new to Kodi.

"I just wanted a media center, not a hobby!"

HW: CPU - Intel Core i3-4130T, RAM - 4GB, Storage: 640GB, TV Tuner - Hauppauge HVR-2255
SW: OS - Kodibuntu, Media Center - Kodi 14.2 (Helix), Skin - Confluence
Addons: NetfliXBMC, YouTube, Pandora
find quote
Soli Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 203
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 2
Post: #395
Hi guys, it's been said a hundred times already. Stop with the masochistic facepalm exercise and just use a 10kb wm, and be done with it. You might get it to work without it, but as soon as you use the chrome plugin to facilitate remote control, the chrome window will resize itself to half of the screen or some other random size. Even Openelec use a wm, it is the right way to launch external programs. (Not just Chrome, emulators and other programs too.
find quote
teeedubb Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,944
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 70
Location: Down Under
Post: #396
I've put together a guide to use kodibuntu + openbox in my steam launcher thread if anyone is interested - just skip over the parts relating to steam.
(This post was last modified: Yesterday 04:59 by teeedubb.)
find quote
sblack55 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mar 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #397
(Yesterday 02:08)Soli Wrote:  Hi guys, it's been said a hundred times already. Stop with the masochistic facepalm exercise and just use a 10kb wm, and be done with it. You might get it to work without it, but as soon as you use the chrome plugin to facilitate remote control, the chrome window will resize itself to half of the screen or some other random size. Even Openelec use a wm, it is the right way to launch external programs. (Not just Chrome, emulators and other programs too.

Actually, it really is working just fine for me, including with the chrome plugin.

-- Steve

30+ years experience in software development, fairly new to Linux, very new to Kodi.

"I just wanted a media center, not a hobby!"

HW: CPU - Intel Core i3-4130T, RAM - 4GB, Storage: 640GB, TV Tuner - Hauppauge HVR-2255
SW: OS - Kodibuntu, Media Center - Kodi 14.2 (Helix), Skin - Confluence
Addons: NetfliXBMC, YouTube, Pandora
find quote
Soli Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 203
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 2
Post: #398
You are manually editing a netflixbmc preferences files and editing source code of chrome launcher? What happens if you launch chrome by itself? Or open chrome in a a desktop session? And are you positively sure you are getting a pixel by pixel no resized window of chrome?

All this when the solution is right in front of you? Also you are not using Kodibuntu but a custom setup, which means what works for you probably wont work for anyone else, whereas using a wm is a universal way of doing it right in the first place.
(This post was last modified: Yesterday 12:04 by Soli.)
find quote
sblack55 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mar 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #399
(Yesterday 12:01)Soli Wrote:  You are manually editing a netflixbmc preferences files and editing source code of chrome launcher? What happens if you launch chrome by itself? Or open chrome in a a desktop session? And are you positively sure you are getting a pixel by pixel no resized window of chrome?

To launch chrome standalone I have to switch to the Lubuntu session. Chrome preferences for that session are saved to a different file, as I indicated in my early posts. Those preferences do not affect the preferences used in the Kodi session.

(Yesterday 12:01)Soli Wrote:  All this when the solution is right in front of you? Also you are not using Kodibuntu but a custom setup, which means what works for you probably wont work for anyone else, whereas using a wm is a universal way of doing it right in the first place.

How am I not using Kodibuntu? Kodibuntu installed and gave me a Kodi session (default) and a Lubuntu session. Everything I am talking about here relates to the Kodi session. The only changes I have made are to install a few extra tools like MakeMKV. If I have to install a wm, then why use Kodibuntu at all?

-- Steve

30+ years experience in software development, fairly new to Linux, very new to Kodi.

"I just wanted a media center, not a hobby!"

HW: CPU - Intel Core i3-4130T, RAM - 4GB, Storage: 640GB, TV Tuner - Hauppauge HVR-2255
SW: OS - Kodibuntu, Media Center - Kodi 14.2 (Helix), Skin - Confluence
Addons: NetfliXBMC, YouTube, Pandora
find quote
Soli Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 203
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 2
Post: #400
(Yesterday 23:09)sblack55 Wrote:  To launch chrome standalone I have to switch to the Lubuntu session. Chrome preferences for that session are saved to a different file, as I indicated in my early posts. Those preferences do not affect the preferences used in the Kodi session..
So somehow Netflixbmc works properly (after doing som hacky stuff) but launching Chrome from Chrome Launcher does not? Last time I checked this thread is called "Chrome Launcher", so in the spirit of this thread you have solved exactly nothing. Also, the same preferences are supposed to be used in both the kodi session and lubuntu session.

Quote:How am I not using Kodibuntu? Kodibuntu installed and gave me a Kodi session (default) and a Lubuntu session. Everything I am talking about here relates to the Kodi session. The only changes I have made are to install a few extra tools like MakeMKV.
Sorry, I thought you wrote something about using a minimal ubuntu 14.10 with Kodi. Maybe it was another user.

Quote:If I have to install a wm, then why use Kodibuntu at all?
I don't see any logic at all in your reasoning. You don't need a wm if all you are running is Kodi. If you want to launch external programs from Kodi that rely on a wm to function properly, then you use a wm. Failure to do so, and instead manually edit various files to get a half-assed solution, is really like voluntarily pissing on an electric fence.

(For the same reasons, OE includes a wm that Kodi runs on top)
find quote
Post Reply