[RELEASE] Chrome Launcher

  Thread Rating:
  • 6 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
masinad Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #436
How can I add "xbmc-send --action="XBMC.InhibitIdleShutdown(true)" when chrome launches, so that it wont shutdown computer when I surf the web?
find quote
TimRogers Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: May 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #437
Hello!

I'm trying to get Netflix working on openelec via Chrome Launcher with a custom script to launch Chromium, but I'm getting a script error with Chrome Launcher along the way and was hoping someone could help me out.

Firstly, I can launch Chromium and run netflix through it manually. However, trying to run Chrome Launcher generates the script error. The Netflix addon looks to be working ok too as long as you don't try to start any playback.

Here's a link to the log file for your perusal: http://xbmclogs.com/p8gf1prdd

To my novice eye, the error looks to start here: http://xbmclogs.com/p8gf1prdd#line-594

Any help would be most appreciated. I'm happy with gentle nudges in the right direction if spoon feeding is too much effort.

Thank you in advance.

Edit: Here's the custom script. Another user wrote it and it seems to be working for several people.

#!/bin/bash
export GOOGLE_API_KEY="no"
export GOOGLE_DEFAULT_CLIENT_ID="no"
export GOOGLE_DEFAULT_CLIENT_SECRET="no"
/storage/.kodi/addons/browser.chromium/bin/chromium $@
(This post was last modified: 2015-05-16 10:54 by TimRogers.)
find quote
Soli Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 236
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 3
Post: #438
I can't help you much with debugging, but AFAIK this should just work.
Script is correct. Did you chmod +x ?
find quote
TimRogers Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: May 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #439
(2015-05-16 13:05)Soli Wrote:  I can't help you much with debugging, but AFAIK this should just work.
Script is correct. Did you chmod +x ?
Yeah. I wasn't sure what permissions were required so I just made it 777.
find quote
marv_el Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 180
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 6
Post: #440
i use this script as well, but for some reasons it didn't work either. i did a chmod +x and deleted the first line "#!/bin/bash" which solved it.
find quote
Soli Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 236
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 3
Post: #441
I think it's supposed to be bin/sh as openelec doesnt use bash but busybox and sh is symlinked to busybox. I managed to delete my openelec disk, so I can't confirm atm.
(This post was last modified: 2015-05-16 19:21 by Soli.)
find quote
andrewfa Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #442
(2015-05-16 09:18)TimRogers Wrote:  Hello!

I'm trying to get Netflix working on openelec via Chrome Launcher with a custom script to launch Chromium, but I'm getting a script error with Chrome Launcher along the way and was hoping someone could help me out.

How did you create the script? it could be a format issue.

Here is a link to my script that works.
https://www.sendspace.com/file/rjttan
find quote
TimRogers Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: May 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #443
(2015-05-16 23:58)andrewfa Wrote:  Here is a link to my script that works.

Thanks for that. It highlighted my problem. I had edited browser.sh rather than script.sh as that's the file the custom script line was pointed at in the UI. Now to fix screen tearing and get sound working!
find quote
morphjk Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Post: #444
Just trying to get netflix working but I keep getting a script failed error which is:

script failed!: Chrome Launcher

I am running Manjaro Linux which is based on Arch Linux. My script is as follows:

Code:
#!/bin/bash
openbox &
/usr/bin/google-chrome-stable "$@"
kill %1

I've confirmed the path is correct for Chrome. I can launch it manually and also from the command line.I had to up date the path for chrome because of it being different when installed from AUR.

So I'm hoping some can assist with getting it sorted.

EDIT: I just worked it out and got it sorted. I didn't realise I needed to make the script executable
(This post was last modified: 2015-05-26 13:52 by morphjk.)
find quote
Post Reply