[RELEASE] Chrome Launcher

  Thread Rating:
  • 6 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
daveozzz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #466
Disabling the GUI sounds in kodi seems to have sorted it for me.
find quote
Diederik Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #467
Hi, I just found this addon for kodi today, and it looks great. Only trouble I'm having is that the chrome window it launches fills up only the left half of my screen.

I'm running kodi directly with xinit, so not sure if that makes a difference. I'm running minimalist Ubuntu 14.04 (server) with no display manager installed.

When I run startx and then chrome, it also only uses left half of the screen. Even when started with --start-maximized.

Anything that you guys can think of that I can try?
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 12,495
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 230
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #468
Run a window manager like openbox or blackbox.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "Thank you" button.)
find quote
Wozza_au Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 4
Location: South Australia
Post: #469
Hi try this in the script that starts chrome
Code:
--high-dpi-support=1 --force-device-scale-factor=1 --start-maximized --disable-translate --disable-new-tab-first-run --no-default-browser-check --no-first-run "$@"
also you may need to add
Code:
xserver-command=X -dpi 96
to the end of the /etc/lightdm/lightdm.conf file...you may need to play with the dpi setting but 96 works well with a 1920-1080 res
(This post was last modified: 2015-07-02 01:50 by Wozza_au.)
find quote
Diederik Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #470
Thanks for the replies, but I figured it out with some googleing.

I edited the file in
Code:
~/.config/google-chrome/Default/Preferences
for some reason the values for the JSON struct "window_placement" only used half the screen. Setting them to
Code:
"window_placement": {
    "bottom": 1070,
    "left": 0,
    "maximized": false,
    "right": 1920,
    "top": 0,
    "work_area_bottom": 1080,
    "work_area_left": 0,
    "work_area_right": 1920,
    "work_area_top": 0
}

Worked for me. Now I have fullscreen chrome with only X Smile
find quote
cmndodhruv Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Jul 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #471
Hello,

I just installed Chrome Launcher. When I open Youtube, it closes after few seconds and returns to Kodi screen. Any ideas?

I am running Kodi version 14.2. I have Aeon Mq 6.1 skin installed. I am running Windows 8.1

Edit: I noticed that the Window is still running in the background but it takes me back to Kodi programs screen.

Thanks,

Cmndodhruv
(This post was last modified: 2015-07-05 17:47 by cmndodhruv.)
find quote
Post Reply