Locking up at install screen.
Hello, I am new to this software. I googled a media center OS, and came across this. I have a number of movies and media files I'd like to share through the house, mainly on the large TVs. So I have this old dell laptop that I wanted to shove behind a TV somewhere and be able to have my media files right there. I downloaded the XBMCbunto as I don't care to have Windows or anything on this laptop. The laptop would exclusively be used for media purposes.

I ended up making a live bootable USB for the install. Everything said it was made correctly with LiLi. I plugged it into the laptop and it booted fine, to the boot screen. After that, any option I select just locks it up. I figured maybe it was a bad USB stick, so I tried another. Same result. So then I found a blank CD and tried that route. Same thing. I have noticed when I click "Install XBMCbunto" it looks like it works for a second or two, then just stops. I can't change options on the screen, no error appears, it just freezes. I have gone through my BIOS and checked settings, couldn't find anything that would cause issues with the boot.

So if anyone can point me in the right direction, that would be great. I'm not a linux expert by any means, and I have tried searching the forums, but gave up. I would try to find a log, if I knew how to do that. Thanks in advanced for the help.
Not a lot to go on I'm afraid......
IMO, XBMC is great as a HTPC front end connected to your TV, but not so hot as a media server sharing elsewhere (except to other XBMC devices),
Anyway, a few questions to hopefully shed some light on your install issue. Apologies if I am covering things you have already done/know, but if you don't ask you never know for sure... Big Grin

1. Can you confirm spec of the laptop? Make, Model, processor, RAM etc. It may well be that there are issues specific to your model.