openelec AND retroplayer? i need a clean pair of pants

  Thread Rating:
  • 4 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
brucem Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #106
Great to hear from you garbear!
find quote
Clack Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #107
Great work. Excited to see this in action!
find quote
garbear Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 1,663
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 109
Location: city of angels
Post: #108
indeed. retroplayer is gonna rock

BTC: 1JtXwJdGdE9YnYgThWBT2StFCU5sEYkbVD (personal), https://kodi.tv/contribute/donate-bitcoin (foundation). Donations in the form of controllers, especially ones that don't work in Kodi, are also appreciated.
find quote
twelvebore Offline
Donor
Posts: 192
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 4
Post: #109
retroplayer has been the cause of some serious WEF (Wife Excitement Factor) recently in my household.

I'd been trying to figure out how to explain to her that I wanted to set up MAME on my HTPC, but hadn't broken the news. Then one night, bored, she said could be get the old NES from the loft and plug it into the TV so she could play Mario World 2? Ka-ching!! I've had the NES emulator running on the recent OE 3.2.0+retro build, she spent the evening playing and thoroughly approves. She kept losing at Mario World, but I don't think that that was a software problem Smile
(This post was last modified: 2014-01-02 15:42 by twelvebore.)
find quote
yallah Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 231
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 2
Location: Cannes, France
Post: #110
(2014-01-02 15:42)twelvebore Wrote:  retroplayer has been the cause of some serious WEF (Wife Excitement Factor) recently in my household.

I'd been trying to figure out how to explain to her that I wanted to set up MAME on my HTPC, but hadn't broken the news. Then one night, bored, she said could be get the old NES from the loft and plug it into the TV so she could play Mario World 2? Ka-ching!! I've had the NES emulator running on the recent OE 3.2.0+retro build, she spent the evening playing and thoroughly approves. She kept losing at Mario World, but I don't think that that was a software problem Smile

Excellent!!! Same here Smile
find quote
darthbollocks Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 0
Smile  RE: openelec AND retroplayer? i need a clean pair of pants
Post: #111
my current setup is OpenELEC 3.2.4 installed with /storage on a separte usb ext4 partition.

I've had prior success running emulation station and raspbmc, but the openelec system just seems so much more responsive on the pi.

I'm currently crosscompiling this build for the Raspberry Pi, since no precompiled builds seem to exist.

do I need to compile the emulator cores separately to get things fully functional?
Huh

Update

after a few minor adjustments, I was able to compile the image.
using the method posted under " Setup an emulator in Raspbmc (NES in this example) " , I successfully swapped the emulator cores for a few emulator addons and launched a few roms.


here is the build if anyone wants to give it a try.

Download OpenELEC_RetroPlayer-RPi.arm-3.2.0.tar.bz2
(This post was last modified: 2014-01-05 13:19 by darthbollocks.)
find quote
Shiz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #112
@darthbollocks @garbear

i just wrote the image to sd along with my usb boots and works great. Thank you both for the work.
(This post was last modified: 2014-01-08 08:28 by Shiz.)
find quote
Shiz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #113
now, how do we make the emus work lol
(This post was last modified: 2014-01-10 18:32 by Shiz.)
find quote
Westane Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #114
Was soooooo excited to get my new Celeron NUC home and get RetroPlayer OpenELEC installed, only to be devastated to see that I could not get audio through HDMI with the current build. The worst part is that the emulators worked so perfectly! Coming off a Windows HTPC using Advanced Launcher for my emulators, I can not WAIT to see this in action. In the mean time I'm using a current official build (Frodo) and everything's working perfectly...
find quote
d3mncln3r Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #115
(2014-01-04 07:34)darthbollocks Wrote:  my current setup is OpenELEC 3.2.4 installed with /storage on a separte usb ext4 partition.

I've had prior success running emulation station and raspbmc, but the openelec system just seems so much more responsive on the pi.

I'm currently crosscompiling this build for the Raspberry Pi, since no precompiled builds seem to exist.

do I need to compile the emulator cores separately to get things fully functional?
Huh

Update

after a few minor adjustments, I was able to compile the image.
using the method posted under " Setup an emulator in Raspbmc (NES in this example) " , I successfully swapped the emulator cores for a few emulator addons and launched a few roms.


here is the build if anyone wants to give it a try.

Download OpenELEC_RetroPlayer-RPi.arm-3.2.0.tar.bz2


Hey, thanks for compiling this. How is it working for you so far? I tried to dl your link, but for some reason I can't get it working. Is it me, or is the link broken?
find quote
digivation Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #116
(2013-11-28 00:29)brucem Wrote:  Bit more info on the amd driver build problem: the amd website detects if you are clicking through to the download from one of their referring pages: if not, it issues a 302 temporarily moved http response, so the download fails....

Thanks for this tip! If anyone else is having issues with the ati driver download, here's a solution (and one that can be easily integrated into the build scripts)

Code:
cd OpenELEC.tv/sources/xf86-video-fglrx
wget --referer=http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/desktop?os=Linux+x86 `cat amd-driver-installer-catalyst-13-6-beta-x86.x86_64.zip.url`


NB, those are backtics (on the same key as ~ on my kb) around the cat ... line (I could have copied the url from the file, but I was feeling lazy).

This simply gives amd.com a refer header that it likes, allowing you to download the driver. That refer gateway is freakin' annoying.

EDIT: You also need to do the same thing for the LEGACY driver as well:

Code:
cd sources/xf86-video-fglrx-legacy/
wget --referer=http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/desktop?os=Linux+x86 `cat amd-driver-installer-12.6-legacy-x86.x86_64.zip.url`

Be sure you remove the old .zip files (which are really just html error pages) prior to running the wget command, OR rename the newly downloaded file back to xxx.zip (wget does not overwrite files by default, and will append a .1, .2 etc to filenames).
(This post was last modified: 2014-02-04 19:00 by digivation.)
find quote
zenonasz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #117
is there a raspberry build out there?

what are the issues and current status of the project?
find quote
Nickman Offline
Fan
Posts: 468
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 0
Location: Sweden
Post: #118
(2014-01-15 01:08)d3mncln3r Wrote:  
(2014-01-04 07:34)darthbollocks Wrote:  my current setup is OpenELEC 3.2.4 installed with /storage on a separte usb ext4 partition.

I've had prior success running emulation station and raspbmc, but the openelec system just seems so much more responsive on the pi.

I'm currently crosscompiling this build for the Raspberry Pi, since no precompiled builds seem to exist.

do I need to compile the emulator cores separately to get things fully functional?
Huh

Update

after a few minor adjustments, I was able to compile the image.
using the method posted under " Setup an emulator in Raspbmc (NES in this example) " , I successfully swapped the emulator cores for a few emulator addons and launched a few roms.


here is the build if anyone wants to give it a try.

Download OpenELEC_RetroPlayer-RPi.arm-3.2.0.tar.bz2


Hey, thanks for compiling this. How is it working for you so far? I tried to dl your link, but for some reason I can't get it working. Is it me, or is the link broken?

Here you go Smile OpenELEC_RetroPlayer-RPi.arm-3.2.0.tar.bz2

  • ASRock ION 330 OpenELEC XBMC Frodo.
  • 47" LG HDTV1080p, AC3/DTS Receiver.
  • 96" Epson LCD 1080p projector
  • 2x Raspbery Pi with XBMC
find quote
Westane Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #119
So I just pulled the trigger on a new(ish) Haswell i5 NUC. Can anyone confirm whether or not audio will work with this hardware?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...6856102052
find quote
Cosmo_Kramer Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #120
Hello, I'd love to get this. I am currently running OpenElec 4.0 Beta 3 because of drivers issues I had.
Is there any chance you could make an OpenElec build with retroplayer for this please?

Thanks so much.
(This post was last modified: 2014-03-30 02:05 by Cosmo_Kramer.)
find quote
Post Reply