Complete Total Newbie - Worse still I have never owned a PC!
Hi,

As the post states I am a total newbie and am ready to enter into the world that is XBMC. I have never owned a PC, only Apple Mac's in my 37 years on planet earth. The reason being I am a graphic designer, so have never needed to drift from apple.

Recently I have been busy ripping all of my music to various HD's around the house. This has taken an age because of the amount of them. To ensure I only need do it once, I have encoded everything as lossless. Next will be all my DVDs then Blu Rays. But first I need the storage space.

I've been looking at lots of NAS drives, with Synology being my preferred route but recently I have been giving more thought to building my own unraid server, as it seems to make a lot more sense moving forwards. I am also planning on stopping buying blu rays and renting/ripping them (as any house only has so much space for cardboard boxes!).

I will be using the NAS for only:
- audio
- films
- photos

Every computer, laptop, tablet and phone in the household is from apple. So the NAS will need to serve them, but primarily serve the content only. I'll then probably purchase a couple of ASrock vision 3d for the living room and bedroom.

Being a graphic designers I am not technically knowledgable, but I do like to get my hands dirty.

I've been looking around and lurking and reading as much as possible. The following video I found on YouTube, seems quite helpful and even has good eye candy! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DA9AKLOVO...ata_player would something like the NAS they have built be a pretty good place to starts, especially if i fill it full of WD Green 3Tb's?

Any help gratefull received.
You can build a simple unraid box which will feed your xbmc clients and apple devices. I run a similar setup

The components below will do the job but you can spend more on MB & CPU if required

Motherboard - Asus M5A78L-M LX V2 - £45
CPU - AMD Sempron 145 OEM Processor - £27