[WIP] Multi Slideshow Screensaver

  Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
JockeSve Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 1
Post: #76
I really liked this ScreenSaver in 12.x and hopefully it will be ported to 13.x as well...
find quote
flitter2009 Offline
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #77
Hi,

Is this still being developed? It's a great idea!
find quote
rob_webset Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 815
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 21
Post: #78
Hi sphere,

A very cheeky question - are you OK if I copy some of your code? I wanted to try something out, and it seems that you already have some great stuff here that I can make use of.

Thanks

Rob

Addons: VideoExtras, TvTunes, Sonos & ***NEW *** VideoScreensaver ***NEW ***
find quote
sphere Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,229
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 51
Location: Germany
Post: #79
(2014-11-13 18:32)rob_webset Wrote:  A very cheeky question - are you OK if I copy some of your code? I wanted to try something out, and it seems that you already have some great stuff here that I can make use of.

Hi Rob,

of course I am fine with it Smile

Feel free to copy any code, its Open Source. I am curious, what do you have in mind?

regards,
spere

My GitHub. My Add-ons:
[Image: IOoywq0.jpg]
find quote
rob_webset Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 815
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 21
Post: #80
(2014-11-13 19:04)sphere Wrote:  
(2014-11-13 18:32)rob_webset Wrote:  A very cheeky question - are you OK if I copy some of your code? I wanted to try something out, and it seems that you already have some great stuff here that I can make use of.

Hi Rob,

of course I am fine with it Smile

Feel free to copy any code, its Open Source. I am curious, what do you have in mind?

regards,
spere

Thanks sphere,

I want to try and see if I can add a screensaver to TvTunes that will play the TV Themes for TV Shows and Movies that have been already saved - and thought that it would be good to also display images of the TV Show/Movie at the same time. You seemed to have something that people already liked - so I thought that would be a good basis to see what I can get going.

As a side note - I'm using the default Movie/TV scraper at the moment - seems to just get a single fanart image - if there recommended ways to get lots of images for a given TV Show or Movie?

It's just an experiment at the moment - not sure if it's anything that will pan out.

Thanks

Rob

Addons: VideoExtras, TvTunes, Sonos & ***NEW *** VideoScreensaver ***NEW ***
find quote
rob_webset Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 815
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 21
Post: #81
Hi sphere,

Managed to get the first version out Big Grin

http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=...pid1838025

Rob

Addons: VideoExtras, TvTunes, Sonos & ***NEW *** VideoScreensaver ***NEW ***
find quote
teredactle Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #82
(2014-03-14 21:51)propergol Wrote:  
(2014-03-09 03:54)majorsl Wrote:  I'm giving this a whirl on Gotham B1. On two XBMC installs it'll run for a random amount of time and then freeze. I can hear XBMC "behind" it working... pressing the "s" key actually brings up the shutdown panel on top of the screen saver so I can exit.

I'm wondering if I have a corrupted piece of movie fanart causing problems, although I'm at a loss to figure out how to find it.

I have the same issue but I don't think its corrupted thing.
I realy like this slideshow and hope it would runs better with Gotham (latest nigltly here)

Also not running for me on Gotham (Openelec); that circle just goes and goes and nothing. The regular Slideshow works great but I wanted to use this as there are some cool transitions.
find quote
rob_webset Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 815
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 21
Post: #83
(2014-11-22 19:04)teredactle Wrote:  Also not running for me on Gotham (Openelec); that circle just goes and goes and nothing. The regular Slideshow works great but I wanted to use this as there are some cool transitions.

If you wanted to give the following a go:

http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=...pid1841586

It was based off of sphere work - so if you still see the problem with that - please enable logging - if I find a fix for you I can feed it back into "Multi-Slideshow" - it's the least I can do as sphere allowed me to use some of his code.

Thanks

Rob

Edit: Just to clarify, I'm assuming that any problem with Multi-Slideshow will also be in TvTunes Screensaver - so the fix would be the same - the reason I'm referring to TvTunes to add logging, is because I know that addon better!

Addons: VideoExtras, TvTunes, Sonos & ***NEW *** VideoScreensaver ***NEW ***
(This post was last modified: 2014-11-22 19:26 by rob_webset.)
find quote
teredactle Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #84
(2014-11-22 19:24)rob_webset Wrote:  
(2014-11-22 19:04)teredactle Wrote:  Also not running for me on Gotham (Openelec); that circle just goes and goes and nothing. The regular Slideshow works great but I wanted to use this as there are some cool transitions.

If you wanted to give the following a go:

http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=...pid1841586

It was based off of sphere work - so if you still see the problem with that - please enable logging - if I find a fix for you I can feed it back into "Multi-Slideshow" - it's the least I can do as sphere allowed me to use some of his code.

Thanks

Rob

Edit: Just to clarify, I'm assuming that any problem with Multi-Slideshow will also be in TvTunes Screensaver - so the fix would be the same - the reason I'm referring to TvTunes to add logging, is because I know that addon better!

So just so I understand,TV Tunes addon to see if I get the same issue? Any release in particular? The link points to 4.5.4, but then I see other posts with fixes and such.

thanks
find quote
rob_webset Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 815
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 21
Post: #85
(2014-11-29 00:46)teredactle Wrote:  So just so I understand,TV Tunes addon to see if I get the same issue? Any release in particular? The link points to 4.5.4, but then I see other posts with fixes and such.

thanks

Just an idea really - TvTunes used some of the code in "Multi Slideshow Screensaver" as a base for it's screensaver - so if there is a fundamental issue, then it might be in both.

The latest TvTunes would be best. (Should be in the official repo by now)

Rob

Addons: VideoExtras, TvTunes, Sonos & ***NEW *** VideoScreensaver ***NEW ***
find quote
sbreit Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #86
Unfortunately it crashes running Kodi. Error message is

Code:
19:22:15 T:4478955520   ERROR: EXCEPTION Thrown (PythonToCppException) : -->Python callback/script returned the following error<--
                                             - NOTE: IGNORING THIS CAN LEAD TO MEMORY LEAKS!
                                            Error Type: <type 'exceptions.ImportError'>
                                            Error Contents: No module named simplejson
                                            Traceback (most recent call last):
                                              File "/path/to/Kodi/addons/script.screensaver.multi_slideshow/screensaver.py", line 26, in <module>
                                                import simplejson as json
                                            ImportError: No module named simplejson
                                            -->End of Python script error report<--

Please have it fixed until the release Blush
find quote
Post Reply