cmyth client for MythTV .27

  Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 1.5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
txcas Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #46
Has anyone been able to compile OpenELEC 3.2.3 with cmyth 1.6.12 for the Raspberry Pi? No matter how I compile it, networking does not work in OpenElec. I can do it all day long for Intel builds, but the RPi build is kicking my butt.
(This post was last modified: 2013-10-21 00:09 by txcas.)
find quote
S4Rs Offline
Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: Methuen, MA
Post: #47
(2013-10-18 21:17)allen00se Wrote:  great so i guess my next question is, has anyone used the combination of Infinitv 6 eth > mythtv .27 > cmyth > xbmc yet? I am thinking about making the switch but my infinitv 4 usb has been so solid lately im not sure if I want to be a pioneer of the infinitv 6 eth.

thanks,
Krys

From what I understand the Infinitv 6 is actually easier to configure than the 4 was because it is network based out of the box. So it would be similar to my current HDHomerun Prime setup. that said the only thing that matters in your loop is

Infinitv 6 eth > mythtv .27

everything else would be independent.

I am waiting till Gotham is official before I upgrade to .27 it sounds. My wife and mother-in-law depend on my setup be as solid as possible or else I get the stink eye.

(Living Room)
core i7 HD4000 running MythTV .27 and XBMC 13 (ALSA Mode)
on XBMCUbuntu 14.04 with 24Hz, DTS-HDMA 7.1
(Bedroom)
core i3 Intel Nuc MythTV .26 (front end) and XBMC 13
on Xubuntu 14.04 with 24Hz,
(Mother-in-Law)
Second Gen Raspberry Pi running OpenElec 4.0 XBMC 13

Droid Maxx (yatse)and N7 (2012 busted digitizer) using the XBMC
find quote
sanedog Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #48
Does anyone know of a working binary 1.6.12 plugin available for Windows? I have XBMC running on Win7 while the mythtv backend is on Ubuntu, which I stupidly upgraded to 13.10 this morning. Now I'm stuck with no broadcast TV, I'm not really set up to compile stuff on Windows, unfortunately...
find quote
ozooha Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #49
sanedog
I have the same setup as you and therefore in the same situation. I tried installing the XBMC 13 nightly builds (0.27 mythtv PVR addon) but still it gives the usual "cmyth cannot connect to backend".
Appreciate if you can let me know if it works out for you for that matter anyone here in the forum.
OZooHA
find quote
ozooha Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #50
sanedog
I solved the issue and following are the steps:
I have installed the XBMC nightly builds so that the mythtv PVR addon is based on mythtv 0.27 and therefore is compatible with Ubuntu 13.10's 0.27 mythtv.
- type on terminal "mysql -u root -p"
at the mysql prompt type-
show databases;
select user, host, password from mysql.user;
see whether the passwords for all the users (i.e. root and mythtv) are the same
if not then you will have to set the passwords using
SET PASSWORD FOR 'User'@'Host'=PASSWORD('yourpassword');
FLUSH Privileges;
type select user, host, password from mysql.user; and
now you should see all the encrypted passwords look alike.
exit;
and i believe you should be done.
If not then the use
command sudo find / -name mysql.txt to see whether you have used the hostnames as the static ip address and not the localhost or 127.0.0.1
find quote
sanedog Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #51
Hi ozooha

Thanks for the reply.

I solved the problem on the Ubuntu side, by uninstalling Ubuntu's 0.27 mythtv package, and building mythtv 0.26.1 from source, downloaded from
https://github.com/MythTV/mythtv/releases/tag/v0.26.1

The build went smoothly once I got all the dependencies in place. They are conveniently listed here
http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/Dependencies_..._source%29

Then I dropped all the tables in the mythconverg database and restored one of the automatic backups in /var/lib/mythtv/db_backups.

Still running mythbackend in an xterm, watching the console log go by. The rest of the family is blissfully unaware of the crisis.
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 9,902
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 178
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #52
Why would you go back to 0.26 when XBMC works so well wit 0.27?

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
sanedog Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #53
nickr, mainly because I don't want to upgrade to a XBMC alpha build right now. Am I wrong in thinking that's what you meant?
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 9,902
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 178
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #54
You don't have to. I simply compiled the latest frodo cmyth code and it works.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
sanedog Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #55
Oh right. Well, no excuse then. Except for an indefensible lack of comfort with doing development-type things on Windows.
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 9,902
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 178
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #56
Maybe I missed the fact you are on windows.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
joeshmoe Offline
Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #57
When I do
Code:
PROJECT=ION ARCH=x86_64 make release
I get
Code:
ERROR: Project not found, use a valid project or create a new config
The options are ARCTIC_MC, ATV, generic, RPi, and virtual. Any ideas?
find quote
teeedubb Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,743
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 63
Location: Down Under
Post: #58
They've been slowly consolidating builds, by the sounds of it in the future there will only be generic. Generic will run fine on a ion.
find quote
joeshmoe Offline
Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #59
(2013-11-02 04:49)teeedubb Wrote:  They've been slowly consolidating builds, by the sounds of it in the future there will only be generic. Generic will run fine on a ion.

OK,thanks.I'll give it a try.
find quote
joeshmoe Offline
Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #60
After compiling the generic version everything seems to work except Mythtv. Enabling it gives
Code:
An unknown error has occurred. Add-on could not be loaded. An unknown error has occurred.
Don't suppose anyone would want to upload a zip file for the latest stable ION version of OpenELEC. I intended to but no luck yet.
find quote
Post Reply