Linux - Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto)

  Thread Rating:
  • 24 Votes - 4.67 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
deadite66 Offline
Donor
Posts: 231
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: UK
Post: #2896
hah forgot about that patch, i even posted in this thread about it.
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid...pid1634981

Asus E2KM1I-DELUXE (E2-2000 with HD7340) 60GB SSD + 2TB WD Caviar Green : xubuntu Trusty x64 : 3.14.2, (mythtv 0.27+fixes + 2x PCTV 290e DVB-T2)
Acer aspire revo R3600 Ubuntu Oneiric.
ASRock ION 3D, atom D525/ion2, 2GB ram, 1TB HDD running Ubuntu Precise. - in storage

find quote
deivid Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #2897
Hi
I was using the fernetmenta ppa and decided to move to the team-xbm ppa to avoid alpha software. Now I'm getting the first 10% of the screen out of vsync, and the rest 90% with vsync.

http://paste.ubuntu.com/7609352/
http://paste.ubuntu.com/7609350/
http://paste.ubuntu.com/7609351/
http://paste.ubuntu.com/7609353/

I'm running 3.15rc6.
Any ideas? Tried rebooting and restarting xbmc. Happens on all videos but not on menu
find quote
fritsch Online
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 6,617
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 150
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #2898
You should better use alpha software.

Quote:[ 24.679] (==) RADEON(0): Backing store enabled

See the init script from post 1.
(This post was last modified: 2014-06-07 21:03 by fritsch.)
find quote
gfisher Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 220
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 4
Post: #2899
(2014-06-07 13:16)fritsch Wrote:  3.15 kernel has a performance regression...

Effect for every day tasks: 1080i50 h264 won't work anymore with temporal on E-Series AMD hardware. You will get arround 33 fps. Currently talking with upstream.
Thanks for finding that. A4 5000 also affected.. I am busy reading about limited color space stuff. Wink
find quote
uuzi Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: Germany
Post: #2900
I've got some weird behaviour when trying to put my htpc into suspend mode, it just does not wake up anymore. It responds to the magic packet, seeing as my power led goes from flashing to on state, but no picture comes up and i can't make a ssh connection. Only choice i have is to manually reboot via the reset switch.

It was working when using the tutorial for saucy and now i've started from scratch following the tutorial, and it doesn't work anymore. any hints how to solve this? as this is probably not a problem with the tutorial itself i'm just looking for clues and maybe someone who's a bit more experienced in all things linux has the time to take a look at my logs:

dmesg: http://paste.ubuntu.com/7611960/
xbmc.log: http://paste.ubuntu.com/7611964/
Xorg.0.log: http://paste.ubuntu.com/7611965/
kern.log: http://paste.ubuntu.com/7611967/
syslog: http://paste.ubuntu.com/7611970/

additionally, i tried writing the edid's working state to /lib/firmware as i thought i could have something to do with edid not being recognized due to my av-receiver (a stupid thought in hindsight, as my ssh wouldnt work either) but the workaround doesnt work.

thx in advance for any help regarding this

uuzi
(This post was last modified: 2014-06-08 10:32 by uuzi.)
find quote
fritsch Online
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 6,617
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 150
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #2901
Try to upgrade the kernel to the latest 3.15 of ubuntu mainline, there were some suspend fixes.
find quote
tomtomme Offline
Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #2902
(2014-06-07 21:02)fritsch Wrote:  You should better use alpha software.

Quote:[ 24.679] (==) RADEON(0): Backing store enabled

See the init script from post 1.

Confirmed.
When will this be fixed (without needing the init script)?
It is still there in 13.2 alpha (todays official xbmc git).
And also the vdpau/mp4 acceleration is still broken there.
I´ll go back to fernets master for the time being....but it would be nice to know in which version those issue will be fixed.

thx, tomme

Fusion E-350, 4 GB RAM, SSD, openSUSE Tumbleweed 64bit KDE, Mesa-10.2.3, latest stable Kernel, XBMC FernetMenta-Git
find quote
Morphy99 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #2903
Hi having some problems getting my new AM1 system working well with DTS-HD. I've followed the guide here and using fernetmenta ppa but I'm still getting lots of dropouts. Tried 3.15 rc6, rc8 and 3.14 kernel and no change. Sorry if I've missed something but here's my logs anyway:

dmesg: http://paste.ubuntu.com/7612354/
xbmc.log: http://paste.ubuntu.com/7612355/
Xorg.0.log: http://paste.ubuntu.com/7612356/
vdpauinfo: http://paste.ubuntu.com/7612356/
mesa: http://paste.ubuntu.com/7612358/

Thanks!
find quote
deadite66 Offline
Donor
Posts: 231
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: UK
Post: #2904
(2014-06-08 12:24)tomtomme Wrote:  When will this be fixed (without needing the init script)?

You can edit /usr/share/lightdm/lightdm.conf.d/50-xserver-command.conf

and add the -bs swtch.

so it looks like this.
Code:
[SeatDefaults]
# Dump core
xserver-command=X -bs -core

Asus E2KM1I-DELUXE (E2-2000 with HD7340) 60GB SSD + 2TB WD Caviar Green : xubuntu Trusty x64 : 3.14.2, (mythtv 0.27+fixes + 2x PCTV 290e DVB-T2)
Acer aspire revo R3600 Ubuntu Oneiric.
ASRock ION 3D, atom D525/ion2, 2GB ram, 1TB HDD running Ubuntu Precise. - in storage

find quote
fritsch Online
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 6,617
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 150
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #2905
Don't edit anything in /usr directory - it will overwritten without asking on next upgrade, use something in /etc/lightdm/... directory.
find quote
tomtomme Offline
Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #2906
(2014-06-08 12:58)deadite66 Wrote:  
(2014-06-08 12:24)tomtomme Wrote:  When will this be fixed (without needing the init script)?

You can edit /usr/share/lightdm/lightdm.conf.d/50-xserver-command.conf

and add the -bs swtch.

so it looks like this.
Code:
[SeatDefaults]
# Dump core
xserver-command=X -bs -core

thanks deadite and fritsch. but I am done with quirks and fixes.... I do not even run lightdm or ubuntu.
I appreciate all your work but I am really tired of stuff not working on E350 after 3 years. I think I have to buy different hardware, when you cannot even say when those things get fixed in mainline.

Well... but then in the gotham alpha11/12 times those things worked... no tearing no mp4 problems. Even HD sound worked, which is now completely gone, cause the options for trueHD and stuff do not even show up in the configuration menu. Only when I switch from "HD audo generic @@@" to "HDA ATI SB, HDMI" output. But then there is no sound at all, only the options to turn on trueHD are there.
I wish I had make a backup from one of those alphas...

now to the new alpha from fernetmenta git mp4 also does not work, but tearing is gone at least, same on this g-linux branch.

complaints complaints and no logs I know. sorry but today I can´t do better...

Fusion E-350, 4 GB RAM, SSD, openSUSE Tumbleweed 64bit KDE, Mesa-10.2.3, latest stable Kernel, XBMC FernetMenta-Git
(This post was last modified: 2014-06-08 15:42 by tomtomme.)
find quote
wsnipex Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 3,872
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 94
Post: #2907
you might not have realized it, but this is NOT a Xbmc problem. Its broken SDL packages in most distros
find quote
fritsch Online
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 6,617
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 150
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #2908
To add:
For mpeg-4 I have now posted alone 5 times in this thread, that mpeg-4 hw decoding has something to do with luck, there are a whole lot different encodings out there - just disable it in expert settings.


Nobody has forced you to use opensuse, but don't make your OS incapabilities to xbmc's
find quote
uuzi Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: Germany
Post: #2909
(2014-06-08 10:36)fritsch Wrote:  Try to upgrade the kernel to the latest 3.15 of ubuntu mainline, there were some suspend fixes.

thx , running rc8 now, works like a charm again
find quote
fritsch Online
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 6,617
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 150
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #2910
Nice, despite the 30% performance regression ... but upstream is informed.
find quote
Post Reply