Linux - Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto)

  Thread Rating:
  • 24 Votes - 4.67 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
fritsch Online
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 7,384
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 167
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #3376
This was already discussed in this (I admit very long thread). Those old cards don't support GL_INTEROP, therefore kodi won't work.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log
find quote
drawks Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #3377
Just wanted to say that bitstreaming and vdpau works great with the latest version of kodi from the unstable ppa running on ubuntu 14.04LTS Desktop amd64. Passthrough mode absolutely wouldn't work until I uninstalled pulseaudio. The first set of packages listed in the first post of this thread were also installed, but nothing else special config wise was needed.

Just watched 300 with TruHD and am now watching FireFly in DD+

Hardware is an AMD A10-5700 APU with Gallium Aruba onboard. While streaming 1080p uncompressed bluray rips CPU usage hovers around 10%
find quote
fritsch Online
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 7,384
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 167
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #3378
Yeah, this howto does _not_ use the 14.04 LTS desktop, but a minimal iso. It also does not install pulseaudio.

For pulseaudio, there is a wiki entry, that explains the dos and don'ts: http://kodi.wiki/view/PulseAudio

Edit: In order to have correct Sync Playback to Display, you will need to install a 3.16.x kernel, read some posts back.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log
(This post was last modified: 2014-12-20 08:09 by fritsch.)
find quote
Endeavour79 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 0
Location: Sydney, Australia
Post: #3379
Is it safe to update to kernel 3.18.1 vivid?
http://kernel.ubuntu.com/~kernel-ppa/mai...8.1-vivid/
find quote
fritsch Online
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 7,384
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 167
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #3380
3.17 had a problem with the powersates, therefore I still suggest 3.16. I did not test 3.18.x yet on my AMD systems.

You could do so and report back, please.

Test the following files, please - with the settings from post 1:

http://solidrun.maltegrosse.de/~fritsch/

Additionally:
Some 24p and 24.0 hz movies with bitstream passthrough. Take care for the sync.

If all fine or "as fine as before". We can suggest 3.18.x

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log
find quote
blm14 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #3381
this is maybe better asked in the openELEC forum, but I figured I'd ask here as well - has this code made it into stable openELEC?
find quote
fritsch Online
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 7,384
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 167
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #3382
Everything is and will be in OpenELEC 5.0

4.2.1 has the gotham version back of the time.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log
find quote
fritsch Online
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 7,384
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 167
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #3383
For those missing Limited Color Range, subscribe here: https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=87591

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log
find quote
Krobar Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3384
(2014-12-22 15:28)fritsch Wrote:  For those missing Limited Color Range, subscribe here: https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=87591

Subscribed. Is there a current bug for the no HD audio with anything but 60P?
find quote
fritsch Online
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 7,384
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 167
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #3385
Yes.https://www.libreoffice.org/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=75064

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log
find quote
drawks Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #3386
(2014-12-20 08:08)fritsch Wrote:  Yeah, this howto does _not_ use the 14.04 LTS desktop, but a minimal iso. It also does not install pulseaudio.

For pulseaudio, there is a wiki entry, that explains the dos and don'ts: http://kodi.wiki/view/PulseAudio

Yeah, sure. I was just reporting that portions of the howto were helpful to get things working for me on desktop AND that it worked in spite of lots of other conflicting reports that it wouldn't.

Quote:Edit: In order to have correct Sync Playback to Display, you will need to install a 3.16.x kernel, read some posts back.


3.13.0-43-generic seems to chugging along just fine. No audio/video sync issues thus far. One VC1+TruHD HD-DVD uncompressed HD-DVD rip I have doesn't seem to want to get a good "lock" with my receiver, but so far it's just the one.
find quote
fritsch Online
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 7,384
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 167
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #3387
what is a "good lock"?

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log
find quote
drawks Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #3388
(2014-12-23 09:36)fritsch Wrote:  what is a "good lock"?

When playback first starts typically the display on my onkyo receiver blinks an HDMI indicator. Most of the time it blinks once or twice and then the receiver displays whatever encoding it has detected. With this one video however the hdmi indicator blinks for maybe 5-8 seconds and then goes out and i get no audio. Without much more to go on than that diagnostically I suspect it is a matter of the signal clocks being out of phase, data loss, or data corruption of somesort. But thats purely speculative.
find quote
fritsch Online
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 7,384
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 167
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #3389
A Debug Log would perhaps show.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log
find quote
sheepy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #3390
Hello,
I had installed ubuntu 14.04 server with kernel 3.16.7-031607 and kodi 15.0-Alpha1. The system is running on a ASRock AM1H-ITX with a AMD Athlon 5350.

My problem:
When I'm running a movie with vdpau kodi crashes.

my kodi.old.log has logged this error:
Quote:14:28:18 T:140117226268416 ERROR: (VDPAU) Error: No backend implementation could be loaded.(1) at VDPAU.cpp:1047
Can someone help me with this problem?

If I checked vdpauinfo i get the message:
Quote:DISPLAY=:0 vdpauinfo
Error creating VDPAU device: 23

but if I run it with sudo, it works. Is this okay?

Complete logs:
kodi.old.log
dpkg -l | grep mesa
XOrg.0.log
vdpauinfo (with sudo)


best regards,
sheepy
(This post was last modified: 2014-12-23 15:49 by sheepy.)
find quote
Post Reply