Linux - Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto)

  Thread Rating:
  • 24 Vote(s) - 4.67 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
eskay993 Offline
Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Nov 2014
Reputation: 1
Post: #3511
Just wanted to say thanks for an awesome guide! Spent the best past of an evening trying to get smooth playback on an Acer Revo RL70 and kept hitting brick walls. Followed this guide and now it's as smooth as butter!
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 8,112
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 182
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #3512
For all those that miss LimitedRange support: https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=83226

Alex has implemented it. Have fun with testing.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log No answer yet? http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
find quote
arkim Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 0
Location: Montpellier, France
Post: #3513
Hello Fritsch & Wsnipex, thanks for your great job , appreciate ...

I have one question , i have a zotac nano AD10 with AMD-e350 and Radeon HD 6310 , and would like to know where is the difference between openelec 5 and your solution (radeon oss with vdpau) ... wich solution offers better image quality .

Thanks a lot
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 8,112
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 182
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #3514
OE is all the same. I am also developing for OE :-)

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log No answer yet? http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
find quote
arkim Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 0
Location: Montpellier, France
Post: #3515
Yes i know that ;-)
but i just want to know the difference between the two solutions
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 8,112
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 182
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #3516
Absolute same code. One is Ubuntu based (this guide), the other uses a trimmed down linux from scratch.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log No answer yet? http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
find quote
zett Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #3517
Hi,

I got a problem with OpenELEC 5.0.2. No sound or stuttering while playing HD audio track.

Hardware is Asrock AM1B-ITX with AMD Sempron 3850 and 4Go RAM plugged on receiver Yamaha RX-V375.

Here is my settings (in french, sorry) :

- Screen 1

- Screen 2

- Screen 3

- Screen 4

- Screen 5

With those settings i got no sound while playing movie in DTS-HD or TrueHD.
When i disable "Adjust Refreshrate to match video" i got sound, but stuttering.

Here are the logs :

With "Adjust Refreshrate to match video"

Whitout "Adjust Refreshrate to match video"

Thanks.
find quote
arkim Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 0
Location: Montpellier, France
Post: #3518
(2015-02-25 19:31)fritsch Wrote:  Absolute same code. One is Ubuntu based (this guide), the other uses a trimmed down linux from scratch.

Thanks Wink
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 8,112
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 182
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #3519
(2015-02-25 20:10)zett Wrote:  Hi,

I got a problem with OpenELEC 5.0.2. No sound or stuttering while playing HD audio track.

Hardware is Asrock AM1B-ITX with AMD Sempron 3850 and 4Go RAM plugged on receiver Yamaha RX-V375.

Here is my settings (in french, sorry) :

- Screen 1

- Screen 2

- Screen 3

- Screen 4

- Screen 5

With those settings i got no sound while playing movie in DTS-HD or TrueHD.
When i disable "Adjust Refreshrate to match video" i got sound, but stuttering.

Here are the logs :

With "Adjust Refreshrate to match video"

Whitout "Adjust Refreshrate to match video"

Thanks.
Known. See bugs.freedesktop.org - disable dts-hd and truehd on your system -> https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=75064

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log No answer yet? http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
(This post was last modified: 2015-02-25 21:20 by fritsch.)
find quote
zett Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #3520
(2015-02-25 21:05)fritsch Wrote:  
(2015-02-25 20:10)zett Wrote:  Hi,

I got a problem with OpenELEC 5.0.2. No sound or stuttering while playing HD audio track.

Hardware is Asrock AM1B-ITX with AMD Sempron 3850 and 4Go RAM plugged on receiver Yamaha RX-V375.

Here is my settings (in french, sorry) :

- Screen 1

- Screen 2

- Screen 3

- Screen 4

- Screen 5

With those settings i got no sound while playing movie in DTS-HD or TrueHD.
When i disable "Adjust Refreshrate to match video" i got sound, but stuttering.

Here are the logs :

With "Adjust Refreshrate to match video"

Whitout "Adjust Refreshrate to match video"

Thanks.
Known. See bugs.freedesktop.org - disable dts-hd and truehd on your system -> https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=75064

Ok, so there is no HD audio support for my hardware with Linux systems. That means OpenELEC, KodiBuntu or other Linux based won't work, that's right ?

What about Win 7, would that work fine ?

Sorry if that was already ask, i'm not a native english reader.
(This post was last modified: 2015-02-25 21:49 by zett.)
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 8,112
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 182
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #3521
I have no idea about Windows. I just told you, that there is a bug with some AVRs that refuse to do bitstream passthrough when not having the refreshrate at 60hz.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log No answer yet? http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
find quote
zett Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #3522
Ok, thanks.
(This post was last modified: 2015-02-26 16:45 by zett.)
find quote
gfisher Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 4
Post: #3523
@zett
Dts-ma 23.976fps works fine for me on win7-64 gotham 13.2 on my Yamaha 575. I am runnning a 5.1 speaker config. HDMI pass thru shows DTS on the avr and it is very crystal clear. No other sound tracks on that vid. This ATI 7750 I want on Linux but it is a no go b/c of severe HDMI sound issues (i filed that bug). All other pcs are on this or OE. Frame rates are very good on this and new OE code.
G
find quote
TheCritter Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #3524
I have the same prob with no or stuttering HD Sound with e.g. 23,976fps.
There are NO problem of the receiver. My BluRay Player works fine with 23,976fps an HD Sound and my old Mainboard with AMD-E350 works fine too. Same software config ans new Board A5000 and no HD Sound. I think no all Boards works fine with Linux. Maybe there are a Chip on the Board that inkompatible.
I use Multichannel PCM Sound with up to 7.1. It works


(2015-02-25 21:43)zett Wrote:  Ok, so there is no HD audio support for my hardware with Linux systems. That means OpenELEC, KodiBuntu or other Linux based won't work, that's right ?

What about Win 7, would that work fine ?

Sorry if that was already ask, i'm not a native english reader.
(This post was last modified: Yesterday 16:03 by TheCritter.)
find quote
Post Reply