XBMC Version Comparison
Wikis are so useful. LOL

But I gotta do actual work right now. Sad
Linux will be cheaper due to OS costs. But for those who have a valid key, this is not a factor. I'm no expert by any means, but I have found installing things on Windows is generally simpler, even (and esp) for open source products. e.g. I had an easier time configuring mysql on Windows.
(2013-10-15, 23:12)MrCrispy Wrote: Linux will be cheaper due to OS costs. But for those who have a valid key, this is not a factor. I'm no expert by any means, but I have found installing things on Windows is generally simpler, even (and esp) for open source products. e.g. I had an easier time configuring mysql on Windows.

That's more of an opinion though, my opinion would be that it's easier in linux because you just open a terminal and type "sudo apt-get install mysql-server". Then you'd just configure it from there.
(2013-10-16, 00:02)cones Wrote:
(2013-10-15, 23:12)MrCrispy Wrote: Linux will be cheaper due to OS costs. But for those who have a valid key, this is not a factor. I'm no expert by any means, but I have found installing things on Windows is generally simpler, even (and esp) for open source products. e.g. I had an easier time configuring mysql on Windows.

That's more of an opinion though, my opinion would be that it's easier in linux because you just open a terminal and type "sudo apt-get install mysql-server". Then you'd just configure it from there.

True. It's all about what you are familiar with.
For the raspberry pi, positive - small size, no fans, low power, built in cec. Negative - can be slower then others.
Which is frankly why these comparisons are of limited value. One man's operating system disk is another man's frisbee.

Overall ratings will always reflect the biases of the assessor - some people care about power consumption more than smooth gui, others insist on a power machine so that aeon looks nice.