Win Help with script to send HTTP command to RedEye
Hi All,

I have just started learning Python so I can create some scripts for a few devices around the house that can be triggered from different things in XBMC. Now keep in mind I am VERY new to programming, but I'm usually pretty quick to pick these kind of things up.

My first attempt is to get XBMC to send a HTTP command ("http://192.168.0.5:8080/redeye/rooms/0/activities/launch?activityId=200") to my Think Flood Redeye unit to run an activity. This one turns on the TV, receiver and selects the correct volume and surround setting for a movie via IR signals.

I have found a script on the net that I have modified, but when I start a video, it flashes up a CMD box and disappears (too quick to read it) without triggering the activity. Can someone point out where I have gone wrong with this script? I'm guessing its something to do with "wget --spider"??

I would like to start building on this one for other tasks, but cant seem to find where I have gone wrong (I've already started some of the Python Tutorials but that's going to take some time).

System details are:
Win 7 64bit
XBMC Frodo 12.2

Script:
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
import xbmc,xbmcgui
import subprocess,os

class MyPlayer(xbmc.Player) :

def __init__ (self):
xbmc.Player.__init__(self)

def onPlayBackStarted(self):
if xbmc.Player().isPlayingVideo():
os.system("wget --spider 'http://192.168.0.5:8080/redeye/rooms/0/activities/launch?activityId=200'")

player=MyPlayer()

VIDEO = 0

while(1):
if xbmc.Player().isPlaying():
VIDEO = 1

else:
VIDEO = 0

xbmc.sleep(1000)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Cant help with the code (except, I dont think W7 uses wget so the error probably says 'wget' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.).