Intel NUC - Haswell (4th Generation CPU)

  Thread Rating:
  • 7 Vote(s) - 4.86 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
karmck Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Feb 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #3751
Hi, has anyone got one of these hooked up only to an via AV receiver (DP -. HDMI)? Are there still any pending issues when switching the source or switching off the av receiver and left running headless? I'm planning to have one of these always on and just switch on the receiver when I want to play some media. Does it lose the signal and require a restart?
Thanks!
find quote
Diapason Offline
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 0
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Post: #3752
(2015-02-15 22:47)k_n_z Wrote:  I've set RGB range to full in xrandr, and then set limited output in Kodi. I've tried every combination of video settings, and I've toggled between "Normal" and "Low" black range on my plasma (confusing names on the Samsung...). No matter what I do, I seem to either get crushed blacks or an image that looks like it has a white mist over it.

Did you remember to disable "Prefer VAAPI rendering"?
find quote
ciukacz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #3753
using i3 nuc (win7 x64) running 24x7 with denon avr-2113 (via regular hdmi cable).
no issues, just remember to:
- enable "audio without video" in intel graphics control panel
- disable turning off the display in windows power options
- when restarting for maintenance (updates etc) do it with avr on

i always quit kodi before turning off the avr, not sure if there would be any issues if done otherwise.
find quote
karmck Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Feb 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #3754
OK thanks ciukacz. So when you switch between HDMI sources or switch off the av receiver, and you go back to your nuc hdmi source, you don't loose the picture or sound if I understand you correctly?
Also have you tried for example doing remote desktop into your nuc when the av receiver is switched off?
Cheers!
find quote
ciukacz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #3755
yes, everything comes back nicely (and i don't use dr hdmi or anything similar).
rdp is also fine as it's a network protocol, it doesn't require a display.
this is how it looks via rdp (option remote audio playback set to "play on remote computer") with avr and tv both in standby (avr has passthrough enabled).
you can see that audio properties (supported channels, frequencies and compressed formats) change to what the tv supports.

[Image: qy77Hvz.png]

i use a password for my windows account so after disconnecting rdp i just have to login again when i want to use my home theater.
i don't know, maybe vnc or some other remote access utility wouldn't require that.
(This post was last modified: 2015-02-16 14:34 by ciukacz.)
find quote
karmck Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Feb 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #3756
Great thanks Wink
find quote
Nellgrove Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #3757
Thinking of getting a denon x4100 - has anyone tested this and know if it passes full rgb through openelec. I had a xx11 denon a few years back and that had black crush, just wonderedif f the new models are fixed (not something that's normally covered in reviews online )
find quote
Stereodude Offline
Fan
Posts: 314
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 3
Post: #3758
The 4520 passes full (0-255) RGB through it.
find quote
myst4ry Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #3759
Just for info, having the intel rapid start on, caused my harmony smart control remote to sometimes not work completely during a session (happened 10% of the time). Turning it off in the bios and uninstalling it has fixed this for the moment.
find quote
agender Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Feb 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #3760
I am sure this has been asked, but besides looks what are the key difference between Zotac ZBOX-C series and Nano ID series? I am looking at the i3 variant of both devices, and prices are pretty similar, but can't really notice what the key differences are. I could be wrong but the C series maybe smaller?

Also, what is the smallest NUC out right now? Or an NUC that is with a Celeron or Pentium cpu, but with Nvidia or AMD gpu?
(This post was last modified: Yesterday 10:25 by agender.)
find quote
scarecrow420 Offline
Moderator
Posts: 1,133
Joined: Oct 2004
Reputation: 30
Post: #3761
I think you are confusing "NUC" to mean a formfactor, but NUC is an intel device that has intel CPU and integrated graphics. You are talking about other devices that may be similar to Intel NUCs but this thread is only about the Haswell NUC

pvr.wmc TV addon and ServerWMC Backend Development Team
http://bit.ly/ServerWMC
find quote
agender Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Feb 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #3762
Actually was referring to two intel based devices that are haswell based and found them when I typed in NUC. All I really was wondering which is the smallest NUC on the market, or if there a Celeron/Pentium based NUC. Didn't realize that NUC didn't mean non-intel gpu though. My bad.
find quote
Matt Devo Online
Moderator
Posts: 1,852
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 86
Post: #3763
(Yesterday 18:15)agender Wrote:  Actually was referring to two intel based devices that are haswell based and found them when I typed in NUC. All I really was wondering which is the smallest NUC on the market, or if there a Celeron/Pentium based NUC. Didn't realize that NUC didn't mean non-intel gpu though. My bad.

all of your questions are answered on Intel's NUC product info pages

Questions about XBMC on an Asus/HP/Acer/Dell ChromeBox?

Check out the wiki and my EZ install script


find quote
Post Reply