Intel NUC - Haswell (4th Generation CPU)

  Thread Rating:
  • 7 Vote(s) - 4.86 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
karmck Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Feb 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #3751
Hi, has anyone got one of these hooked up only to an via AV receiver (DP -. HDMI)? Are there still any pending issues when switching the source or switching off the av receiver and left running headless? I'm planning to have one of these always on and just switch on the receiver when I want to play some media. Does it lose the signal and require a restart?
Thanks!
find quote
Diapason Offline
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 0
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Post: #3752
(2015-02-15 22:47)k_n_z Wrote:  I've set RGB range to full in xrandr, and then set limited output in Kodi. I've tried every combination of video settings, and I've toggled between "Normal" and "Low" black range on my plasma (confusing names on the Samsung...). No matter what I do, I seem to either get crushed blacks or an image that looks like it has a white mist over it.

Did you remember to disable "Prefer VAAPI rendering"?
find quote
ciukacz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #3753
using i3 nuc (win7 x64) running 24x7 with denon avr-2113 (via regular hdmi cable).
no issues, just remember to:
- enable "audio without video" in intel graphics control panel
- disable turning off the display in windows power options
- when restarting for maintenance (updates etc) do it with avr on

i always quit kodi before turning off the avr, not sure if there would be any issues if done otherwise.
find quote
karmck Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Feb 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #3754
OK thanks ciukacz. So when you switch between HDMI sources or switch off the av receiver, and you go back to your nuc hdmi source, you don't loose the picture or sound if I understand you correctly?
Also have you tried for example doing remote desktop into your nuc when the av receiver is switched off?
Cheers!
find quote
ciukacz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #3755
yes, everything comes back nicely (and i don't use dr hdmi or anything similar).
rdp is also fine as it's a network protocol, it doesn't require a display.
this is how it looks via rdp (option remote audio playback set to "play on remote computer") with avr and tv both in standby (avr has passthrough enabled).
you can see that audio properties (supported channels, frequencies and compressed formats) change to what the tv supports.

[Image: qy77Hvz.png]

i use a password for my windows account so after disconnecting rdp i just have to login again when i want to use my home theater.
i don't know, maybe vnc or some other remote access utility wouldn't require that.
(This post was last modified: 2015-02-16 14:34 by ciukacz.)
find quote
karmck Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Feb 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #3756
Great thanks Wink
find quote
Nellgrove Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #3757
Thinking of getting a denon x4100 - has anyone tested this and know if it passes full rgb through openelec. I had a xx11 denon a few years back and that had black crush, just wonderedif f the new models are fixed (not something that's normally covered in reviews online )
find quote
Stereodude Offline
Fan
Posts: 344
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 3
Post: #3758
The 4520 passes full (0-255) RGB through it.
find quote
myst4ry Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #3759
Just for info, having the intel rapid start on, caused my harmony smart control remote to sometimes not work completely during a session (happened 10% of the time). Turning it off in the bios and uninstalling it has fixed this for the moment.
find quote
scarecrow420 Offline
Moderator
Posts: 1,158
Joined: Oct 2004
Reputation: 31
Post: #3760
I think you are confusing "NUC" to mean a formfactor, but NUC is an intel device that has intel CPU and integrated graphics. You are talking about other devices that may be similar to Intel NUCs but this thread is only about the Haswell NUC

pvr.wmc TV addon and ServerWMC Backend Development Team
http://bit.ly/ServerWMC
find quote
luckywales Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mar 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #3761
I hope this isn't hijacking...but honestly I've been looking for this answer for ages...If I buy an Intel NUC with a Haswell processor, it is my understanding that, in theory it should be able to output in 24p. I have NO interest in 4K, and that seems to be the most widely debated topic. I really just want a nice simple, reliable device to run KODI/XBMC, and output HD Audio, along with 1080p/24p video.

I have seen some people state that it needs ALSO to include an Iris HD integrated video card - is this true? If not, please please PLEASE tell me the bare minimum HDx000 series video card I need, because I've seen cheap Haswells chipsets with the HD5000 - didn't pull the trigger because I need this question answered.

Thank you very much, in advance.
find quote
nickr Offline
Donor
Posts: 11,451
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 208
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #3762
Please don't post the same question in multiple threads.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
bustamelon Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: CT, USA
Post: #3763
(2015-03-08 02:31)luckywales Wrote:  I hope this isn't hijacking...but honestly I've been looking for this answer for ages...If I buy an Intel NUC with a Haswell processor, it is my understanding that, in theory it should be able to output in 24p. I have NO interest in 4K, and that seems to be the most widely debated topic. I really just want a nice simple, reliable device to run KODI/XBMC, and output HD Audio, along with 1080p/24p video.

I have seen some people state that it needs ALSO to include an Iris HD integrated video card - is this true? If not, please please PLEASE tell me the bare minimum HDx000 series video card I need, because I've seen cheap Haswells chipsets with the HD5000 - didn't pull the trigger because I need this question answered.

Thank you very much, in advance.

Simple answer: yes.
My D34010WYK1, with Intel HD Graphics 4400, running OE 5 does 1080p/24p like a champ on my Samsung PN51E6500.
find quote
dixons Offline
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #3764
Intel NUC DN2820FYK, Ubuntu 14.10.
Having a few problems with video Debug Log http://paste.ubuntu.com/1059443/.
It is intermittent so the log might be useless.
Have tried to read through the topic from the start but got to page 125 out of 251 and was getting nowhere.
Tried playing around with the acceleration and de-interlacing as suggested in other posts but no luck.
I get horizontal lines when playing some videos, the log is an example of one of them without the lines this time.
When I play the video through Ubuntu it plays perfectly.
Any help would be appreciated
Geoff
find quote
Post Reply