Intel NUC - Haswell (4th Generation CPU)

  Thread Rating:
  • 7 Vote(s) - 4.86 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
mfritzen Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Apr 2015
Reputation: 0
Location: Brazil
Post: #3781
Thank you guys for the previous help.

Today I received the NUC, as far from now it's perfect. Bit-stream DTS-HD MA, awesome quality of video...

Here some pics:

[Image: 20150423_171620.jpg]
[Image: 20150423_171528.jpg]
[Image: 20150423_182012.jpg]
[Image: 20150423_182127.jpg]
find quote
noggin Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,760
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 43
Location: United Kingdom
Post: #3782
(2015-04-21 23:20)Nellgrove Wrote:  I previously had the correct black level, but I have black crush with openelec 5 on both machines. As I had on Openelec 4 - I have the full RGB set in autostart.sh and I have it set to limited in the menus, but this isn't working correctly now. Any ideas on what else needs to be changed?

If you want to output limited 16-235 levels (which are what most HDMI devices expect as default - as they are the standard used in DVD, Blu-ray etc.) then you have two options :

1. Run the Intel GPU in Limited mode - which means that 16-235 content is mapped from to 0-255 and then back again which can introduce banding. The Intel GPU drivers do this by default when running at 1280x720 or 1920x1080 as they are HDTV resolutions. You can also force it in the same way as you can force full RGB in autostart.sh This allows full hardware acceleration of both decoding and deinterlacing.

2. Run the Intel GPU in Full mode (so that the Intel GPU thinks it is driving a 0-255 display) BUT feed it with 16-235 content so that it comes out as 16-235. This is what the RGB Full option in autostart.sh coupled with the limited output range in the menus offers. HOWEVER you can't do that if you use VAAPI rendering (which is required for hardware de-interlacing) as doing so pushes it though a 0-255 process. You need to run software decoding only I think to get this to work?

*** EDIT - update to clarify VAAPI issues ***
(This post was last modified: 2015-04-24 10:31 by noggin.)
find quote
mfritzen Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Apr 2015
Reputation: 0
Location: Brazil
Post: #3783
What remote control do you recommend? I mean, something like out-of-box, using the IR that comes with NUC. Thanks!
find quote
Crssi Offline
Fan
Posts: 341
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 2
Location: Slovenia
Post: #3784
(2015-04-24 07:33)mfritzen Wrote:  What remote control do you recommend? I mean, something like out-of-box, using the IR that comes with NUC. Thanks!

Harmony Smart Control Wink
find quote
sat4all Offline
Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 1
Location: Casablanca, Morocco
Post: #3785
(2015-04-24 02:20)noggin Wrote:  
(2015-04-21 23:20)Nellgrove Wrote:  I previously had the correct black level, but I have black crush with openelec 5 on both machines. As I had on Openelec 4 - I have the full RGB set in autostart.sh and I have it set to limited in the menus, but this isn't working correctly now. Any ideas on what else needs to be changed?

If you want to output limited 16-235 levels (which are what most HDMI devices expect as default - as they are the standard used in DVD, Blu-ray etc.) then you have two options :

1. Run the Intel GPU in Limited mode - which means that 16-235 content is mapped from to 0-255 and then back again which can introduce banding. The Intel GPU drivers do this by default when running at 1280x720 or 1920x1080 as they are HDTV resolutions. You can also force it in the same way as you can force full RGB in autostart.sh This allows full hardware acceleration of both decoding and deinterlacing.

2. Run the Intel GPU in Full mode (so that the Intel GPU thinks it is driving a 0-255 display) BUT feed it with 16-235 content so that it comes out as 16-235. This is what the RGB Full option in autostart.sh coupled with the limited output range in the menus offers. HOWEVER you can't do that if you use VAAPI (certainly for rendering - and I think, though I may be wrong, for acceleration) as doing so pushes it though a 0-255 process. You need to run software decoding only I think to get this to work?

You don't have to disable the whole hw acceleration process, disabling vaapi rendering will be enough and of course you can't use vaapi deinterlacing methods too.

Intel NUC D54250WYK (OpenELEC 6.0)
Samsung UE55F8000 / Denon AVR-X2000 / KEF E305
Ruling them all with a Harmony Touch Remote
(This post was last modified: 2015-04-24 10:11 by sat4all.)
find quote
Plany Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 0
Location: Yokohama
Post: #3786
(2015-04-24 07:33)mfritzen Wrote:  What remote control do you recommend? I mean, something like out-of-box, using the IR that comes with NUC. Thanks!

I use the fire tv stick remote and I love it
if you want an IR use the Apple Remote Wink

do you really need over 9000 buttons on a remote? Smile
(This post was last modified: 2015-04-24 11:14 by Plany.)
find quote
Crssi Offline
Fan
Posts: 341
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 2
Location: Slovenia
Post: #3787
(2015-04-24 07:33)mfritzen Wrote:  What remote control do you recommend? I mean, something like out-of-box, using the IR that comes with NUC. Thanks!

(2015-04-24 09:09)Crssi Wrote:  
(2015-04-24 07:33)mfritzen Wrote:  What remote control do you recommend? I mean, something like out-of-box, using the IR that comes with NUC. Thanks!

Harmony Smart Control Wink

(2015-04-24 11:12)Plany Wrote:  
(2015-04-24 07:33)mfritzen Wrote:  What remote control do you recommend? I mean, something like out-of-box, using the IR that comes with NUC. Thanks!

I use the fire tv stick remote and I love it
if you want an IR use the Apple Remote Wink

do you really need over 9000 buttons on a remote? Smile

I am sorry that I have originally replied wrongly.
This thread is for NUC only.

NUC is compatible with RC6 remote control protocol.
With this info open another thread to avoid hijacking this one.
find quote
mfritzen Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Apr 2015
Reputation: 0
Location: Brazil
Post: #3788
I have a little issue as far from now. When I turn on NUC (after shutdown ou sleep) it can't access my files on PC (connection refuse, and something like that). But if I wait some minutes it can access.

What could it be?
find quote
nc88keyz Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 143
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #3789
Anybody proved the following scenario possible:


Intel 4th gen haswell i5 NUC,

Outputing via windows and kodi,

Bitstreaming audio to - AVR

2160p resolution 30/fps to UHD display. (I think that is all the 4th gen nuc is capable of if I'm not mistaken)

Besides the obvious, have to use Mini DP to HDMI for second output....is this doableConfused

I have not invested in a 4k reciever yet,

Still using a Denon AVR4311ci.
find quote
nickr Offline
Donor
Posts: 11,905
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 214
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #3790
(2015-04-29 19:56)mfritzen Wrote:  I have a little issue as far from now. When I turn on NUC (after shutdown ou sleep) it can't access my files on PC (connection refuse, and something like that). But if I wait some minutes it can access.

What could it be?
Networking?

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
nickr Offline
Donor
Posts: 11,905
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 214
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #3791
(2015-04-30 07:47)nc88keyz Wrote:  Anybody proved the following scenario possible:


Intel 4th gen haswell i5 NUC,

Outputing via windows and kodi,

Bitstreaming audio to - AVR

2160p resolution 30/fps to UHD display. (I think that is all the 4th gen nuc is capable of if I'm not mistaken)

Besides the obvious, have to use Mini DP to HDMI for second output....is this doableConfused

I have not invested in a 4k reciever yet,

Still using a Denon AVR4311ci.

What are you actually asking? Whether i5 NUC can do 2160p30 (answer I dunno) or whether you can do video out of one port and audio out of another (answer, yes).

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
noggin Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,760
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 43
Location: United Kingdom
Post: #3792
Can confirm the Haswell (4th Gen) NUC can do 2160/30p over HDMI. Can't comment on the Displayport resolution (it may be higher - but not many Displayport UHD TVs around now)

The NUC will also do full H264 VAAPI acceleration of 2160/30p content in OpenElec. Haven't tried Windows with DXVA - but I suspect similar, and there may also be some H265 HEVC acceleration with the new drivers that use CPU+GPU acceleration.
(This post was last modified: 2015-04-30 09:56 by noggin.)
find quote
Post Reply