Intel NUC - Haswell (4th Generation CPU)

  Thread Rating:
  • 7 Vote(s) - 4.86 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Matt Devo Offline
Mr. ChromeBox
Posts: 3,707
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 164
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Post: #3871
(2016-03-08 11:11)capo56 Wrote:  Guys, I have NUC2820 running latest Openelec 6.0.3 and Kodi.
I was disappointed when playing H265 video in just FullHD as it was not smooth. Sometimes even not usable at all. Seems that there is not enough computing power or something is not optimally configured from my side. Could you please help me address that?
I don't need 4K, FullHD is fine. Data comes from NAS, audio is "passed through" to AVR. 4GB RAM installed. Is in theory 2820 powerful enough for H265 HEVC or is it not?

the N2820 (BayTrail) NUC is nowhere near powerful enough to play back HEVC. Also, this thread is for the Haswell NUC, you want this thread for yours: http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=187433. If you need something with hardware support for HEVC, then look at the Braswell or Skylake NUCs.

Questions about Kodi on an Asus/HP/Acer/Dell ChromeBox?

Check out the wiki page and my Kodi EZ install script


find quote
capo56 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3872
Matt, thank you very much. I will probably end up with Beebox N3000.
find quote
Matt Devo Offline
Mr. ChromeBox
Posts: 3,707
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 164
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Post: #3873
(2016-03-08 20:08)capo56 Wrote:  Matt, thank you very much. I will probably end up with Beebox N3000.

get the N3150 if you can, there's a decent performance difference between the dual and quad core versions

Questions about Kodi on an Asus/HP/Acer/Dell ChromeBox?

Check out the wiki page and my Kodi EZ install script


find quote
pinn Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #3874
Hi,

Recent owner of the D34010WYK and have some trouble with audio. I am on the latest driver, downloaded by Windows last night, but also rolled back to the one downloaded by Intel Update. The issue is regarding rear sound. I have the device hooked up to my av receiver with a 5.1 set up but am getting no rear sound from DTS-HD Master. I have run the DTS-MA speaker test from http://www.demo-world.eu/2d-demo-trailers-hd/ and audio does output from the rear speakers. Also, in Windows speaker test, when I click to test rear speakers, the sound comes from the front pair. All formats are reported on the driver and my av receiver is compatible.

Any ideas as this is driving me crazy - grrrr. Cheers
(This post was last modified: 2016-05-20 11:42 by pinn.)
find quote
movie78 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,297
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 26
Location: SX USA
Post: #3875
(2016-05-20 11:39)pinn Wrote:  Hi,

Recent owner of the D34010WYK and have some trouble with audio. I am on the latest driver, downloaded by Windows last night, but also rolled back to the one downloaded by Intel Update. The issue is regarding rear sound. I have the device hooked up to my av receiver with a 5.1 set up but am getting no rear sound from DTS-HD Master. I have run the DTS-MA speaker test from http://www.demo-world.eu/2d-demo-trailers-hd/ and audio does output from the rear speakers. Also, in Windows speaker test, when I click to test rear speakers, the sound comes from the front pair. All formats are reported on the driver and my av receiver is compatible.

Any ideas as this is driving me crazy - grrrr. Cheers

Try this beta driver

MY CURRENT MEDIA PLAYER
Intel D34010WYK NUC 2D/3D WINDOWS
HIMEDIA Q10 PRO TESTING ANDROID
SAMSUNG 55 JS9000 4K HDR
BENQ W1070 PROJECTOR YAMAHA RX-A3050 DTS X/ATMOS 7.2.4
MY HOME THEATER


find quote
nuc-LE Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #3876
Anybody running LE latest from Milhouse? If you do what video setting do you use?
find quote
-DDD- Online
Fan
Posts: 513
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 14
Post: #3877
should be like here http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=231955

| myHTPC |
find quote
nuc-LE Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #3878
I thought that too, but after different combo of settings still having problems with 30FPS videos. I will post in Milhouse thread with debug. Thanks for your help.
find quote
Post Reply