Mavericks Airplay Display Support

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
kaess Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
One of the most exciting features of Mavericks for me is the Airplay display support. My hope was that I could have XBMC full screen on my HDTV using the new Airplay Display feature, and continue to do other tasks on my macbook's screen.

However, when I tested this out there were a few problems. 1) when I go fullscreen with window on my Airplay display, it automatically goes full screen on my MacBook screen, rather than the TV. 2) when I have xbmc on my Airplay display (not full screen due to point 1) the audio comes through my Mac speakers rather than the TV.

I initially tested out the Airplay Display feature with VLC watching mkv files and it worked flawlessly. If the VLC window was on my TV and I went to full screen, it would be full screen on my TV, and the audio came through the TV speakers.

I'm not sure if there is an immediate fix, but this should be something considered for Gotham.
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 21,350
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 276
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #2
I think Memphiz is working on this with some new window handling stuff. If I understood it correctly, it will allow XBMC to take advantage of the native APIs relating to full screen, and I think that will also apply to airplaying applications on Mac OS X to ATV2/3's.

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Video library]] = Video library, [[SMB]] = SMB , [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
find quote
kaess Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
(2013-11-03 17:57)Ned Scott Wrote:  I think Memphiz is working on this with some new window handling stuff. If I understood it correctly, it will allow XBMC to take advantage of the native APIs relating to full screen, and I think that will also apply to airplaying applications on Mac OS X to ATV2/3's.

Cool, I look forward to seeing these improvements.
find quote
scoobdog3000 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
I found a fix where by you set the secondary monitor to your tv to your primary one.

Go to airplay icon ---> select your device (your tv) ---> choose extended display

Then open display preferences and on your mac choose arrangement.

Then you will see the two blue boxes , one will have a grey toolbar at the top. Drag that grey toolbar onto the other blue box that will then make your tv the primary display and your apple tv the secondary.

Now when you load up XBMC the big black bars at the side should be gone and XBMC will display full screen on your TV
find quote
xbmctaxi Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Im not very technical

I have xbmc wizard running on a PIVO'S XIOS. I have enabled airplay in the services confluence menu. When I click the airplay box on my mac, it only shows my apple tv (which runs really fritzy using airplay) and not xbmc airplay. Am i missing something or is there another solution to this, or is it even possible to airplay my mac to xbmc through pivos?

Thanks for any help...
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 21,350
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 276
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #6
(2013-11-12 07:01)xbmctaxi Wrote:  Im not very technical

I have xbmc wizard running on a PIVO'S XIOS. I have enabled airplay in the services confluence menu. When I click the airplay box on my mac, it only shows my apple tv (which runs really fritzy using airplay) and not xbmc airplay. Am i missing something or is there another solution to this, or is it even possible to airplay my mac to xbmc through pivos?

Thanks for any help...

AirPlay in XBMC only works with videos, music, and pictures. AirPlay Mirroring isn't supported, which is what is used from OSX.

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Video library]] = Video library, [[SMB]] = SMB , [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 11,277
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 115
Location: germany
Post: #7
Does the audio work on the tv when you use the "Default" audio device in xbmc?

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
(This post was last modified: 2013-11-12 12:51 by Memphiz.)
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 11,277
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 115
Location: germany
Post: #8
You could try this test build here and report back:

http://mirrors.xbmc.org/test-builds/osx/...x86_64.dmg

but keep in mind that this build will show a lot of strange issues. This code is pretty early and i am not sure if i will make it till gotham (alot of rl going on atm) ...

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote