XBMC Hardware
Hi,
I see a few other posts for people asking about suitable hardware suggestions. But we all seem to be asking for something different.

So last week, my XBMC on the XBOX original died. It ran daily for just over 7 years. Think I got a good bang for buck on that one.

The XBOX Original had a few limitations but was largely OK.

So for a new device, my requirements are:
XBMC Support
HDMI Support
Ethernet connectivity
High Definition file types supported
Relatively Cheap
Nice looking under the TV
Local storage, nice but not essential
Most media will be on UNC paths to a Windows Server, though this may change to a NAS at some stage
No need for TV Tuner cards, as I use a Topfield already
Compatible with a Logitech type remote control
Android might be interestesting
Netflix is something that sounds good, but I've never tried before

I have an ATV2, but unfortunately I'm unable to get an un-tethered jailbreak working on it. It would have been perfect.

Any input you have would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Gareth
Get your ATV2 jailbroken properly.
Would love to jb the ATV2, have tried and tried. I cannot get the blobs I need, its on a version thats no longer being signed.
Under $100, OUYA. Over $100, NUC or other Celeron-based mini system. Celeron-based mini systems, which can be set up for around $150-200, are going to be the best bang for your buck and will be more stable than the ARM/Android based systems.

Raspberry Pi is surprisingly awesome for its price, but it is certainly in a lower category than OUYA. Hard to go wrong with a Pi, since you can always use it for 100 other things.

Everyone start chanting: NUC NUC NUC
(2013-11-06, 03:21)Ned Scott Wrote: Hard to go wrong with a Pi, since you can always use it for 100 other things.

Everyone start chanting: NUC NUC NUC

π π π
I'm in a similar circumstance. I am looking to make another HTPC. My primary concern is that it WORKS.